**Notice** Due to transfering back from a godaddy hosted wordpress blog back to blogger, reviews published before june 2017 don`t all have a pretty layout with book cover and infos. Our apologies.

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Stacking the Shelves [342]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
My full stack of absolute gems is over at Reading Reality, but there are a few I'd like to especially highlight here.

I have two books that are on my "Most Anticipated" list for this year, one that I just HAD to get because I just read the first book in the series this week and absolutely LOVED it, and one book that I honestly got for the cover.

Try to guess which witch is which?

Empress of Forever by Max Gladstone

The Last Tsar's Dragons by Jane Yolen and Adam Stemple

Medusa in the Graveyard by Emily Devenport

Triple Jeopardy by Anne Perry




Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, January 12, 2019

Stacking the Shelves [341]

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in a physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————

Hello readers!
Hope you've had a great start to 2019! I'm excited because I finally was able to get some reading done over the holidays (or while I had a cold). Here's some books I've recently added to my shelves, and don't forget to share yours below!

China Rich Girlfriend by Kevin Kwan
Completed.

Rich People Problems by Kevin Kwan
Currently reading.

A Map of Days by Ransom Riggs
Recently completed. Review coming soon.

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Recently completed. Review coming soon.

The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy by Mackenzi Lee
Recently completed.
This was a delightful romp, much like the first. I wish I could share them with you!

The Exile by Diana Gabaldon
Recently completed.
(Finally finished with everything in Outlander-verse!)

Wildcard by Marie Lu
Recently completed. Review coming soon.

Ms. Marvel Vol. 9: Teenage Wasteland by G. Willow Wilson
Recently completed.
One of my favorites in this series.


`

Saturday, January 05, 2019

Stacking the Shelves [340]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
Things don't seem to have quite gotten back into the groove at NetGalley and Edelweiss after the holiday break, so the full stack over at Reading Reality is still a bit on the short side. But things are definitely looking up!

Take a look for yourself and see.

An Illusion of Thieves (Chimera #1) by Cate Glass

No Country for Old Gnomes (Tales of Pell #2) by Delilah S. Dawson and Kevin Hearne

Wild Country (World of the Others #2) by Anne Bishop




Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, December 29, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [339]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
As I said over at Reading Reality, this was almost the "Empty Shelf" edition of Stacking the Shelves. But with the help of some last minute additions from Edelweiss and an ebook sale at Amazon, I did pick up a few things, which are sampled below.

But this is also the New Year's Eve Eve Eve edition of Stacking the Shelves. And I'd like to take this opportunity to wish you and yours a Happy New Year. I hope your year is filled with good friends, good times and good books!

Alice Payne Arrives (Alice Payne #1) by Kate Heartfield

Ninefox Gambit (Machineries of Empire #1) by Yoon Ha Lee

Templar Silks by Elizabeth Chadwick



Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, December 22, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [338]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
Welcome to the middle-of-the-holidays edition of Stacking the Shelves! I say middle-of-the-holidays because there are approximately 29 holidays observed between November 1 and January 15 every year. Not all of them are mine - although that would be awesome. Not all of them are yours, whatever yours might be. But all of them matter to lots and lots of someones - so why not be inclusive?

Happy Holidays to you and yours, whatever you celebrate.

Meanwhile, here are just a few of the books I'll be diving into this week. The full stack is, as always, over at Reading Reality.

The Cliff House by RaeAnne Thayne

Protect the Prince (Crown of Shards #2) by Jennifer Estep

The True Queen (Sorcerer to the Crown #2) by Zen Cho




Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, December 15, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [337]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 I did not get a lot of new books in this week's complete stack (over at Reading Reality) but the books I did get are ones that I have been waiting for for a while - and I'm particularly looking forward to reading!

These have been teasing me for a while, so now it's time to tease you.

Fifty Things That Aren't My Fault by Cathy Guisewite

The Raven Tower by Ann Leckie

The Hound of Justice (Janet Watson Chronicles #2) by Claire O'Dell




Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, December 08, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [336}


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————

Both of us seem to  have picked up some kind of crud on our Thanksgiving trip, so it's been kind of long week, filled with lots of coughing and sneezing. It's a good thing that I have PLENTY to read, even if I didn't get all that much this week.

Here are a few of my favorites from this week's full stack over at Reading Reality

The Infamous Duchess (Diamonds in the Rough #4) by Sophie Barnes

The Temple (Guardians of Destiny #4) by Jean Johnson

Who Slays the Wicked (Sebastian St. Cyr #14) by C.S. Harris




Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, December 01, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [335]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
And we're back from the Thanksgiving holidays with another edition of "As the Bookshelf Overloads", otherwise known as Stacking the Shelves. My full stack is over at Reading Reality, and it isn't too big considering that it's two weeks' worth of stack.

The more the merrier! Or, to put it another way, So many books, so little time! But I wouldn't have it any other way.

Here's just a few of this week's highlights:

The American Agent (Maisie Dobbs #15) by Jacqueline Winspear

The Library of Lost and Found by Phaedra Patrick

The Sentence is Death (Hawthorne #2) by Anthony Horowitz





Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Thursday, November 29, 2018

Nyxia Unleashed by Scott Reintgen

Nyxia Unleashed by Scott Reintgen

Book Stats:  

Reading level: Young Adult
Genre: Science Fiction
Hardcover: 390 pages
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Release date: July 17, 2018

Series:  Nyxia Triad, #2

Source: Library

Reviewed by: Kara

Order: Amazon | Book Depository

Emmett Atwater thought Babel's game sounded easy. Get points. Get paid. Go home. But it didn't take long for him to learn that Babel's competition was full of broken promises, none darker or more damaging than the last one.

Now Emmett and the rest of the Genesis spaceship survivors must rally and forge their own path through a new world. Their mission from Babel is simple: extract nyxia, the most valuable material in the universe, and play nice with the indigenous Adamite population.

But Emmett and the others quickly realize they are caught between two powerful forces-Babel and the Adamites-with clashing desires. Will the Genesis team make it out alive before it's too late?

There's once again a lot of things going on in this novel (too many?).Our Genesis 11 and 12 crews have been dispatched to a new world on Babel's mission. There's an entirely new world we know practically nothing about, a new culture of the Adamites or Imago, an underlying mystery of the Imago, plus Babel's secret plot and then, what's happening on the Babel spaceship? Then you add in the insta-romance of Emmett and Morning, the feud between Isabelle and Emmett because of Roathy, a revenge plan by the Genesis crew for their fallen members and Babel's lies...this is a lot for a reader to process. I really wish it would have slowed down!

From the last book, the character development really seemed to improve, especially since we already know a lot of the characters. I was frustrated at the relationship between Emmett and Morning mostly because Morning seems like a Mary Sue. She's pretty perfect but her one weakness is the boy? Pah. There's one point in their story where Morning is really upset by calling home and she doesn't tell Emmett, and then you might realize that Morning actually never says anything about her past and her family. Why? I had trouble connecting with her. I did, however, absolutely love the character of Anton (even though we know little about him too), so I'm really looking forward to reading more about him in the last book. We only get to see a few glimpses of what he's up to in the latter half of the novel. One of the characters to really change is Longwei, from a silent, winning-is-the-only-thing-that-matters player to one of the team because of Emmett's friendship and support.

The worldbuilding in this novel gives me echoes of a few different things. The mining camps remind me of Fallout vault shelters (why is a spoiler). The rings and different walls of the Imago's city remind me of Gondor in Lord of the Rings. I loved the scene that played out in the Sixth ring with the talented chef. That was possibly my favorite part of this novel. Yet with the strange land I also see connections to C.S. Lewis's Perelandra series. Maybe this is due to the allegorical references to Biblical names in this novel with Babel, Genesis, Jerricho...

Lastly, I have trouble recalling all of the events at the end. There was such chaos and confusion between plots and subplots that I honestly don't remember what significance each event had. I'll have to read it over again for it to sink in... I will definitely be reading book 3 out in 2019. Give this series a try? What did you like? What did I miss? Which characters stood out to you?

Saturday, November 24, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [334]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
For those in the U.S., Happy Thanksgiving weekend! I hope that your turkey wasn't too dry, and that there aren't more leftovers than you can stomach!

I've been out of town this week, celebrating the holiday with friends, which does solve the leftover problem. We don't have any, and since we're flying we can't be asked to take any home. We get to see friends and family-of-choice, so I call this a win!

But there are always books on my stack. Even if I haven't picked up anything new this week, there are always things on my "comfort reads" shelf that come out whenever I need a break, or a pick-me-up or a guaranteed good read.

I'll show you mine if you show me yours!

The Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne (particularly good in audio!)

Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews

Cat in the Stacks series by Miranda James



Please link your STS post in the linky below: