**Notice** Due to transfering back from a godaddy hosted wordpress blog back to blogger, reviews published before june 2017 don`t all have a pretty layout with book cover and infos. Our apologies.

Saturday, August 18, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [320]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
I've got three books to show you today, out of my complete stack over at Reading Reality. The three books I have to tease you with are as different as they could possibly be.

One has to be science fiction this week. I'm prepping this post very far ahead because I'm away at the World Science Fiction Convention in San Jose this weekend. So one definitely has to be SF. But the other two...you'll see.

Ruth Bader Ginsburg: a Life by Jane Sherron de Hart

Search Image (Web Shifter's Library #1) by Julie E. Czerneda

Someone to Trust (Westcott #5) by Mary Balogh



Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, August 11, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [319]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
I have three books in this stack that I am really, really looking forward to. (Full stack, as usual, over at Reading Reality.) Not that I'm not interested in all of the books that I get, or I wouldn't have gotten them in the first place! But these are all books in series that I am following, so I have been waiting for these three ever since I finished the previous book in each of their respective series.

Drumroll please!


The Bartered Brides (Elemental Masters #13) by Mercedes Lackey

Dare to Love a Duke (London Underground #3) by Eva Leigh

Midsummer Mayhem (Potting Shed #7) by Marty Wingate

Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, August 04, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [318]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
Today's post at Reading Reality includes two completely different stacks. One is the usual rundown of the books I received this week. And the other is the picture of my actual glorious bookshelves in the office in our new house. We're still at the stage of pinching ourselves that we're actually adulting. We're also not remotely finished unpacking. The books in my office only go up to the G's. The rest are still in boxes.

And now back to your regularly scheduled book teases...

Consumed by J.R. Ward

For the Sake of the Game: Stories Inspired by the Sherlock Holmes Canon 
edited by Laurie R. King and Leslie S. Klinger

The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas



Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, July 28, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [317]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
We are moving house over the weekend, so I cut my stack off a bit early this week. The full stack over at Reading Reality seems to have more books that I pretty much have to read than it does books that I want to read. But here are a few fun ones to tease you with.

Fly Girls by Keith O'Brien

Hard in Hightown by Varric Tethras and Mary Kirby

How to Fracture a Fairy Tale by Jane Yolen



Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, July 21, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [316]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
I received a couple of interesting books this week. But then, I always do. The full stack is over at Reading Reality, but I always like to share the highlights with you!

Hitting the Books (Library Lover's Mystery #9) by Jenn McKinlay

A Tall Dark Cowboy Christmas (Gold Valley #4) by Maisey Yates

The Wedding from Hell #1: The Rehearsal Dinner by J.R. Ward
This is a FREE prequel novella to Ward's upcoming contemporary romance/romantic suspense Firefighters series. If you're curious, it's a great chance to try before you buy. 



Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, July 14, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [315]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
In the middle of my full stack over at Reading Reality there are a few books I want to highlight this week. Of course, there always are!


Entropy by Jess Anastasi
This is the 4th book in the author's Atrophy series of SFR, which I loved so much I gave it an SFR Galaxy Award. But at least part of the award was because at the time, it looked like the series was done, and it was terrific to be able to recommend a series that was complete where readers didn't have to wait for more installments. But it's not done yet!


Frenchman Street by Suzanne Johnson
This is the long awaited book 6 in the Sentinels of New Orleans series. It's been two years since the previous book, Belle Chasse, and I can't wait to see what trouble DJ Jaco gets into, and hopefully out of, this time around. Rumor had it that this would be the final book in the series, but I seriously hope that rumor is wrong!


The Hollow of Fear by Sherry Thomas
Last but not least, book three in the Lady Sherlock series. Which is awesome.




Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Friday, July 13, 2018

Pierce Brown's Red Rising Sons of Ares by Pierce Brown, Rik Hoskin, Eli Powell

Pierce Brown's Red Rising Sons of Ares by Pierce Brown, Rik Hoskin, Eli Powell

Book Stats:  

Reading level: Adult
Genre: Graphic Novel, Science Fiction, Space fiction
Hardcover: 152 pages
Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment
Release date: March 13, 2018

Series:  Sons of Ares #1

Source: Library

Reviewed by: Kara

Order: Amazon | Book Depository

From the world of the best-selling YA series Red Rising comes a story of love and loss and rage!

In the future, when mankind has spread across the stars, the hierarchy of man is dictated by the color of one’s caste. The Golds rule all, but what will happen when one falls for a lowly Red? See how a forbidden love will set the course of events for the future and lead to the formation of the formidable Sons of Ares!

This prequel graphic novel introduces us to Fitchner au Barca before his days leading the Sons of Ares. We recall Fitchner as being a tricky sort, with a crude sense of humor and gory (or "gorydamn") penchant for violence. That doesn't mean he's without morality, though, but more like he bats no eye at crossing the line from killing humanely to killing in an animalistic fashion, especially if it's someone who's betrayed him.

Beginning with a brief introduction to the world and it's social hierarchy and origins, this graphic novel sort of skirts around Fitchner's past, showing him in an unknown undercover operation and flashing back to his beginnings and then to his time at the Institute. Mostly, I think this flashback serves to show how Fitchner had a long history of being belittled by his own color, forced to commit atrocities, and thus gives him a new perspective when he takes his position in society. Fitchner shows he isn't like other Golds when he rebels against what his society has taught him and values the lives of others after the horrors he's committed. He saves the lives of Reds caught in an explosion, Reds he's responsible for.

This marks his biggest change, moving from a lonely outsider to being accepted by a family. Here begins what we've only heard barely mentioned by Sevro in the original stories, the talk of his mother, Bryn. It follows her meeting with Fitchner, their marriage, and Sevro's birth -- our sweet little Goblin as a baby (who apparently always was called a goblin). It's easy to see where Sevro gets his attitude after these flashbacks to his father's early life, and their similar experiences of being bullied and shamed by other Golds for their appearance and height.

It is at this point that the novel's present and flashbacks meet up to continue the story. And what a horrifying tale it is, especially for those of us who might be parents of littles and fellow Howlers. Poor Sevro and his mother have been captured by the Board of Quality Control. Bryn is being questioned about her baby's father and Sevro's life is threatened as they want to carve him up to see how he's alive. It's possibly the worst nightmare come true. I won't say how it ends (mostly we know a bit from the novels), but it's in this fight that reveals Fitchner's ascendance to Ares.

This is the first time the world of Red Rising has been captured in art form. Eli Powell creates this world dark and smudgy and shadowed, both with literal shadow and the subject matter. While I liked seeing the science fiction schematics, I sort of feel like we do miss the emphasis of the action that is brought to life so well in the text. It's sort of the age-old, what's in your head is better than portrayals, whether in future film or in this graphic novel series. Not that Powell's art leaves things to be desired, but that the format of a graphic novel doesn't capture the same quality of the novels. There isn't as much dialogue and description because things are shown to the reader. It leaves some things more ambiguous than they might have been otherwise. Perhaps too, it was the nature of this story itself, too, as there aren't many positives. It's truly a rebirth narrative, "out of the ashes of Gold rises a 'god'".

It was not how I pictured Fitchner. He looked more like he was not finely molded, like a block of wood contrasted with typical Gold picturesque carving. I thought he would have perhaps a bulbous nose or just features that were too big for his face. I was also picturing all Reds looking like gingers, but Bryn seemed to have brunette hair. Not a big deal in the long run, but just a different perspective. I enjoyed reading this and will likely continue when more are pubbed but don't expect the full-bodied flavor of the other series. It's just an all-too-brief glimpse into the past.

Saturday, July 07, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [314]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
This week's full stack (over at Reading Reality) isn't quite as splendiferously ginormous as last week's stack. I'm not sure whether that's because even the fallout from the conference is well over, or because I'm closing out a day early this week.

We're closing on our new house tomorrow, and even though it's not until 2 pm I know I'm not going to get much of anything done in the morning except gibbering. But it's happeneing! It really, really is!


The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy by Mackenzi Lee


A Notorious Vow by Joanna Shupe


Phoenix Unbound by Grace Draven


Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, June 30, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [313]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
This is my post-ALA Stacking the Shelves. My complete stack over at Reading Reality is absolutely ginormous - maybe even a bit bigger than ginormous - whatever that is. I saw many, many too many marvelous books, and picked up eARCs of pretty much all of them.

The great thing about eARCs is that my iPad weighs the exact same amount no matter how many books it's holding. The one drawback to eARCs is that there's nothing to signal me (like pain in my arms and back from carrying too many books) that I'm way, way past the number of books I can read in a lifetime.

Here's a teeny, tiny sampling...


Circe by Madeline Miller


Heartland by Sarah Smarsh


John Woman by Walter Mosley


The Map of Salt and Stars by Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar


Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, June 23, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [312]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
I always have a couple of teasers to show you, but my full stack over at Reading Reality isn't much bigger than the teasers. As you read this I'll be in hot, sticky New Orleans at the American Library Association Annual Conference.

Laissez le bons temps rouler!



One Perfect Kiss (Hope #8) by Jaci Burton


The Science of Science Fiction by Mark Brake


Please link your STS post in the linky below: