**Notice** Due to transfering back from a godaddy hosted wordpress blog back to blogger, reviews published before june 2017 don`t all have a pretty layout with book cover and infos. Our apologies.

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

CSN Stores Giveaway!

Hey my darlings!

I posted like 2 weeks ago that I would do a review for CSN but change of plans I will do a giveaway instead!

You can win a 35$ CG at CSN!

All you have to do is leave a comment before Dec 7th, 2010. and let me know what you’d like to purchase with it. Visit the CSN Stores for some inspiration!

Open to US & Canada.

You get one extra entry for being a follower, but it’s not mandatory.

Happy Holiday Shopping!

CSNtrain

Monday, November 29, 2010

When I’m not writing… with Jeaniene Frost

jfrostauthor

 

As you guys know, Jeaniene is one of my absolute favorite authors so I’m really excited to have her on the blog once again! It’s always a pleasure to have her around and I really hope you share my enthusiasm! She is indeed the author of The Night Huntress series and its spin-off and her next release, This Side of the Grave is due February 22nd, 2011 and I CAN’T WAIT to get my hands on it.

 

 

H1It should surprise no one that when I’m not writing, I like to read. I discovered romance novels at the age of twelve and even used to measure my allowance in terms of how many books it could buy. As a teen, I didn’t mind being sent to my room when I was bad because that’s where all my books were. It was love of reading that first made me want to write my own stories. One of the only downsides to writing is that I have less time for reading now, but I still make sure to squeeze some new reading in even when I’m on deadline. I’ve noticed that if I go too long without reading, I tend to get cranky (somewhere my husband is nodding in fervent agreement, lol). Romance may have been my first literary love, but I also enjoy horror, urban fantasy, supernatural mysteries, and the occasional non-fiction book.

 

H2Alas, over the course of about twenty years and over a dozen moves, I lost a lot of my books. At one early point in our marriage, my husband thought a huge cardboard box filled with novels was junk meant to be thrown away, and he did exactly that. It’s a testament to how much I love him that he lived through such an egregious mistake *wink*. On the top left shelf of the above photo, you can see all that’s left of my teenage romance collection. Some readers love the convenience of not needing shelves because all their books are now stored on an electronic device. I say more power to them, but I love having stacks of physical books around me. When I was little, my grandmother had a room with floor to ceiling shelves on two walls and a big comfy couch along the third, and it was my favorite room to spend time in when we visited her. My husband and I intend to move out of Florida next year and my one wish is to have floor to ceiling shelves in a room of our new home. Cross your fingers for me that it works out! 

 

H3As you can probably guess, I’m also a movie buff. My idea of a nice evening at home involves sitting on the couch with popcorn and watching a DVD. Even though it’s too large for our current living room (as you’ll see in the next photo), recently we bought one of those big sectional couches and words cannot express how much I love it. Both hubby and I can fully stretch out with our pillows and blankets while the movie plays. It’s one of my favorite ways to unwind. We also make sure to cover our couch with various throw blankets because somebody  - points to the spoiled doggie in the picture - thinks the couch is hers, not ours. We’re lucky she graciously allows us to use it as long as petting her is part of that use, heh.

 

H4I also love listening to music, but nowadays I listen to most of it while I write. My husband jokes that my laptop is really just an expensive radio, because it’s what I use to play songs while I write on another laptop that’s so old, it’s probably the original prototype (in my defense, I take the “radio” laptop with me when I go out of town because it has WiFi, so it DOES have other uses :). I create different soundtracks from iTunes for each book, with different artists depending on my  mood, but some of my favorite bands are Sarah McLachlan, Coldplay, The Fray, Smashing Pumpkins, Kings of Leon, Linkin Park, Carolina Liar, U2, White Lies, Lifehouse, and 44. Below is a photo of my writing space with the blue “dinosaur” laptop on the desk and the red “radio” laptop on the left of it. The desk itself is actually quite old. It belonged to my great-grandfather and my grandmother used to do her homework on it when she was a child.

 

If you’re wondering about the items on top of the desk, the pillow was a gift from my fan site moderator; the roses were from my sister when I first hit the New York Times; the unicorn was a gift from my niece when she was a child (and she was so proud to tell me that she’d bought it with her own money); the cat-o-nine tails was a gag gift from my critique partner in honor of my heroine, and the  pig and the bear were what my grandmother held the last two weeks of her life in the hospital. My grandmother was an amazing lady. To her last, she kept her sense of humor, joking that she’d get better only if the pig started to fly. My heroine’s middle name, Kathleen, is in honor of my grandmother.

H5The other thing I enjoy doing in my spare time is roaming through cemeteries. Yes, this sounds odd to a lot of people, but most cemeteries are very pretty, and the historic ones are like outdoor museums. The author photo in my books was taken by a friend while we were wandering through a cemetery in Baltimore, MD. I wanted to scale the fence to get to the blocked off, older section of the cemetery. She very sensibly noted that the fence had metal spikes, and getting impaled by one of them would ruin our plans for the day. Since I’m not very athletic (or graceful) and probably would have skewered myself if I tried to vault over those spikes, I settled for taking pictures of that section of the cemetery from inside the fence. You can just see the tips of the fence spikes at the bottom of this picture.

-------------------------------------

Thank you so much Jeaniene for sharing with us, and it’s such a lovely attention to name Cat after your grandma’s name. Love it =)

halfway-to-the-grave-lg-174x300 one-foot-in-the-grave-lg-174x300 at-graves-end-lg-174x300 destined-early-grave-xl-174x300

first-drop-of-crimson-xl-174x300 EternalKissLJDEV1-197x300

thissideofthe graveDanger waits on both sides of the grave

Half-vampire Cat Crawfield and her vampire husband Bones have fought for their lives, as well as for their relationship. But just when they’ve triumphed over the latest battle, Cat’s new and unexpected abilities threaten to upset a long-standing balance…

With the mysterious disappearance of vampires, rumors abound that a species war is brewing.  A zealot is inciting tensions between the vampires and ghouls, and if these two powerful groups clash, innocent mortals could become collateral damage. Now Cat and Bones are forced to seek help from a dangerous “ally”—the ghoul queen of New Orleans herself. But the price of her assistance may prove more treacherous than even the threat of a supernatural war. …to say nothing of the repercussions Cat never imagined.

-------------------------------------

Jeaniene very generously offered a signed copy of Eternal Kiss of Darkness (picture me jealous!) to one lucky reader!

It is open internationally (Thank you Jeaniene!)

All you have to do is leave a meaningful comment and FILL THE FORM

Giveaway ends  Dec 13th, 2010.

-------------------------------------

Enjoyed this post? There will be more “When I’m not writing…” posts in the future!

Please visit This Page to find out who my future guests are, and a chance to suggest authors you would like to see featured!

Authors, you would like to visit and share with us?

Please email me at TyngaUF(a)gmail.com

Saturday, November 27, 2010

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox
Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every week =)


Books Mentioned:

Won:

Magic at the Gate by Devon Monk (Thank you Devon!)

For Review:

Cryer’s Cross by Lisa McMann

The Poison Eaters by Holly Black

Slice of Cherry by Dia Reeves

The Education of Hailey Kendrick by Eileen Cook

The Lo Down by Lo Bosworth

Thank you S&S Canada!

Holy Batman Winter!!!

When I woke up this morning my reaction was…. OMFG!

Look at what was waiting for me on the other of the window

And there wasn’t a hint of snow when I went to bed at 1:30 AM…

And it’s not over yet…

Oh well I guess winter is really here *sad panda*

Friday, November 26, 2010

Event Announcement: Dark Winter Tale!

2 paranormal blogs + 15 spine-tingling days + 15 wickedly talented authors, creepy adventures, and the most chilling new releases of the season =
Dark Winter Tale
Choose Your Own Adventure
December 1st – December 21st

Darkwintertalefinal

This December I will have the pleasure to co-host a fantastic event with the amazing Angela from Dark Faerie Tales! Starting on December 1st, 2010 and featuring 15 Paranormal Authors, the Dark Winter Tale event will draw you in an epic short story!

Every week days, from Dec 1st to Dec 21st, you will be able to read a new section of the Dark Winter Tale story, written by a different author each time! Each section will be posted alternatively between Dark Faerie Tales & Tynga’s Reviews and giveaways will be joined to most posts. Amazing time guaranteed!

Here’s a list of the fearless authors who contributed to the story (alphabetic order)!

Adrian Phoenix (Etched in Bone)

A.M. Robinson (Vampire Crush)

Anna Windsor (Captive Soul)

Carrie Harris (Bad Taste in Boys)

Carrie Jones (Entice)

Jess Haines (Taken by the Others)

Joy Preble (Haunted)

Lesley Livingston (Tempestuous)

Linda Roberston (Arcane Circle)

Mari Mancusi (Night School)

Nancy Holzner (Hellforged)

Rebecca York (Day of the Dragon)

Sarwat Chadda (Dark Goddess)

S.L. Wright (Demon Underground)

Tracey O'Hara (Death's Sweet Embrace)



HauntedTempestuousEnticeBad Taste in Boys Etched in Bone
Vampire CrushCaptive SoulTaken By The OthersArcane CircleNight SchoolHellforgedDay of the DragonThe Dark GoddessDeath's Sweet EmbraceDemon Underground
 

Dark Winter Tale

Join us Dec 1st for an amazing ride! And feel free to use our button!

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Shadow Hill Poster Winner!

shadowhillsThe lucky winner of the Shadow Hill Poster offered by Anastasia Hopcus is.....

debbie said...

It is always interesting to see what movies people like. I would love to read the book, it sounds really good.
twoofakind12@….


Congrats!!
You have 72 hours to email at TyngaUF(a)gmail.com with you mailing addy or I'll pick a new winner.

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Full Moon Rising by Keri Arthur

FMR A rare hybrid of vampire and werewolf, Riley Jenson and her twin brother, Rhoan, work for Melbourne’s Directorate of Other Races, an organization created to police the supernatural races–and protect humans from their depredations. While Rhoan is an exalted guardian, a.k.a. assassin, Riley is merely an office worker–until her brother goes missing on one of his missions. The timing couldn’t be worse. More werewolf than vampire, Riley is vulnerable to the moon heat, the weeklong period before the full moon, when her need to mate becomes all-consuming.…

Luckily Riley has two willing partners to satisfy her every need. But she will have to control her urges if she’s going to find her brother….Easier said than done as the city pulses with frenzied desire, and Riley is confronted with a very powerful–and delectably naked–vamp who raises her temperature like never before.

In matters carnal, Riley has met her match. But in matters criminal, she must follow her instincts not only to find her brother but to stop an unholy harvest. For someone is doing some shifty cloning in an attempt to produce the ultimate warrior–by tapping into the genome of nonhumans like Rhoan. Now Riley knows just how dangerous the world is for her kind–and just how much it needs her.

 

Full Moon Rising is set in an open world, aka a world where Paranormal Creatures are out of the closet and living among humans openly. These nonhuman are legislated by an organization called The Directorate and Riley Jenson is one of their employees. Riley is non ordinary werewolf, she comes from the Red pack. A nearly extinct pack of werewolves with red hair and slightly different body types. But that’s not the most important difference, Riley, just like her twin brother, is a Dhampir, I very rare combination of werewolf and vampire heritage. Her rather simple life goes havoc though when her brother goes missing, and she seems to be the only who cares. Mind set on finding him, she will stumble in a full blown conspiracy.

This was the first of Keri Arthur’s book I ever read and I really liked it. The world setting was great, her characters well thought and mysterious and a great plot to sink your teeth into. In this lore werewolf are “victims” of Moon Heat which occurs a few days before the full moon and cause in all werewolves an incontrollable urge to mate. As you can guess, Full Moon Rising is set in the key period of the month and even though there are A LOT of mention of sex and sex scenes, they aren’t all that graphic and don’t weight down the action.

I really liked the characters as a whole, they all have a different personalities, different motives and each a role to play in this story. I love that most of the main characters were given a past explaining their current behaving and the flavor Keri gave each of them. Riley is strong, stubborn and resourceful. She’s not all mighty and will fail, which makes her that much more tangible. Quinn is one hell of a sexy piece of man and his trouble past makes him that much more interesting and I’m really looking forward to discover more about him. Liander is a what I call a “back burner character”, he isn’t a main character, the story could go on without him, yet I had a soft spot for the guy. Hopefully he’ll take a more important place in the following books.

One of the aspect I really appreciated about this book is that it’s set in Australia. The majority of books are set in the States so it was nice to see a change of scenery!

I already own the following two books and I can’t wait to read them. If you are an Urban Fantasy lover and are interested in a different lore, set in a unique world, you have to pick up the Riley Jenson series!



Riley Jenson Guardian:

Full Moon Rising

Kissing Sin

Tempting Evil

Dangerous Games

Embraced by Darkness

The Darkest Kiss

Deadly Desire

Bound to Shadow

Moon Sworn

Book Stats:

  • Mass Market Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Dell (December 26, 2006) The Book Depository
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0553588451
  • ISBN-13: 978-0553588453

    Book Source: Won in a giveaway, Sent by Keri Arthur.

  • Monday, November 22, 2010

    Questions from an eReader noob!

    Hello My lovelies!

    I am turning to you today because.. hold your breath… I won a Kindle!!!! *Happy Dance*

    It was offered by the lovely Kersten Hamilton for her Tyger Tyger Tour organized by Teen Book Scene.

    I don’t know which model I won yet.. but I need your help because.. I have no idea how a kindle works!

    How do I buy books, how they transfer on the kindle? How can I read my NetGalley books on it? I’m form Canada, does it makes a difference? You get the picture? I’m a complete noob when it comes to ereaders.

    Would you guys mind helping me? *Smiles hopefully*

    When I’m not writing… with Courtney Rene

    image

     

     

    I am very happy to introduce you to author Courtney Rene! Her paranormal YA novel recently came out and Courtney contacted me, via Lauren from Shooting Stars Mag, to share with us what she likes to do when she’s not writing! Please welcome her warmly =)

     

     

     

    Welcome to my chaos. 

    When I was asked about doing a blog on what I do when I am not writing, I had to stop to think if my life was interesting enough for it.  The more I thought, the more I realized my life is a disaster of movement, mess, and chaos of which any quiet moments left are spent, you guessed it, writing.  Breaking it all down was a bit scary.  Esp. since I have a charged laptop that travels with me most of the time.  If I don’t have my laptop, then I have printed pages to review and revise or just a clean spiral to doodle notes into. 

    My life consists of my husband, Frank and our two children, Sidney and Seren.  We also have two dogs, a Labrador (Patch) and an English Mastiff (Big Dog), an orange tabby cat (Luna), numerous fish and hamsters.  I work full time during the day, then when the day job ends, the chaos begins. 

    I am a taxi most days as I drive our children to school, activities, sports event, etc.  Where to stalk me? 

    You can find me here:
    image

    image

    And loads and loads of time here: 

    image

    Then you have the time spent doing meaningless chores.  Grass, shopping, cleaning….  anyone that has an English Mastiff will tell you that a lot of time is spent wiping off dog slobber from things like, the ceiling.  Oh and color coordinating clothes to the tan and black fur that they sheds like rain. 

    image

    Then there is my reading.  I love to read and will devour books as fast as I can lay my hands on them.  There are three libraries that the frequent and the people all know me by name.  I don’t stick to any one section either.  I love them all even the “boring” non-fiction part.  If you ever see me out on the street, most likely I have a book stashed in my purse as well as 2-5 in the car.   I have been known to stay up most of a night because I don’t want to put down a book. I don’t have the time I used to, to spend reading.  It would be lovely if I did.  I miss the adventures, the love, the fear.       *Note to self, stop at library on the way home*   

    image

    Right now, we are in the process of huge renovations to our old house.  If it’s a nice day, and the sun is shining, my husband will have us ALL out doing something.  Including roofing.  Considering my clumsy nature, this was a trial for all of us.  Although I learned a lot of good stuff that maybe I can use in the future for my writing, it’s a hot and dirty job that I never want to do again.  Insulation and siding….are next on the list. 

    I never know what my day will bring or where it will take me, but at the end of the day, I’m happy in the midst of my chaos.  I love it. 

    ------------------------------------

    Quite the fan of reading even as a small child, Courtney Rene one day decided that reading other peoples stories was not enough for her and decided to writer her own.  Courtney Rene lives in Ohio, with her husband and two children, two dogs, a cat, several hamsters and a plethora of fish.  Along with her novel, Shadow Dancer, just recently released (09/2010) through www.roguephoenixpress.com, her works can also be found in several magazines in the form of articles and stories, as well as several anthologies.  She loves hearing from her readers.  Please feel free to contact her at ctnyrene@aol.com or check out her website and blog www.courtneyrene.com  www.ctnyrene.blogspot.com 

    ---------------------------------------

    Thank you so much Courtney! It’s been a pleasure!

    image Sunny has a gift that she has no idea how to use, until she meets Leif, a boy from the kingdom of Acadia, on the other side of the shadows.

    Leif teaches Sunny about Shadow Walkers and how to use her new found gifts. As they grow closer and their gifts grow stronger, a threat arrives. The Shadow Guard has been sent to bring Sunny back to Acadia, to determine if she is a threat to the king as the rightful ruler of Acadia.

    As Leif and Sunny prepare to defend themselves, Sunny finds that Leif has also been sent to bring Sunny back to the kingdom but for very different reasons. As a battle for possession of Sunny wages, she is struggling to come to turns with her feelings of inadequacy regarding controlling her gifts as well as the hurt regarding the lies and deceit of everyone around her.

    Sunday, November 21, 2010

    2011 Debut Challenge!

    Yes it’s a first. I am signing up in a Challenge! *holds breath*

    lol Ok I’m making a big deal out of it because I never participated in any of the challenges, but I LOVE reading debut author books and since I WILL read at least a few in 2011 I figured I might as well register =)

    This challenge is hosted by Kristi The Story Siren and you can visit this page for more info!

    Books Read:

    Will you join the Challenge?

    Friday, November 19, 2010

    In My Mailbox

    In My Mailbox
    Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every week =)

     
    Books Mentioned:
     
    For Review:
    Sunrise at Sunset by Jaz Primo
     
    Won:
    The Darkest Pleasure by Gena Showalter
    The Darkest Kiss by Gena Showalter
     
    Also mentioned:

    Thursday, November 18, 2010

    Cover Love!

    Here’s the part 2 of Cover Love I promised last week! Once again, many cover to please the eyes, but even more importantly some great books to come I’m sure!

    Eternity is the sequel to Fallen Angel by Heather Terrel. The first book isn’t out just yet but I’m really looking forward to it!

    Fallen Angel: December 15th 2010.

    Eternity:  July 1st 2011.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Always a Witch is also a sequel. Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough was the first book in the series.

    The second encounter will release August 1st 2011.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Magic Slays is the fifth book in the Kate Daniels series, to be released June 2011. I own the previous books but haven’t started reading them yet. I really need to get onto this Ilona Andrews series!

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    magic on the hunt

    Magic on the Hunt by Devon Monk is the sixth book in the Allie Beckstrom series (April 2011). I also own this series but haven’t read it yet. I really need to stop slacking lol