**Notice** Due to transfering back from a godaddy hosted wordpress blog back to blogger, reviews published before june 2017 don`t all have a pretty layout with book cover and infos. Our apologies.

Friday, April 30, 2010

Mistwood by Leah Cypess

9780061956997 “The Shifter is an immortal creature bound by an ancient spell to protect the kings of Samorna. When the realm is peaceful, she retreats to the Mistwood. But when she is needed she always comes.

Isabel remembers nothing. Nothing before the prince rode into her forest to take her back to the castle. Nothing about who she is supposed to be, or the powers she is supposed to have.

Prince Rokan needs Isabel to be his Shifter. He needs her ability to shift to animal form, to wind, to mist. He needs her lethal speed and superhuman strength. And he needs her loyalty—because without it, she may be his greatest threat.

Isabel knows that her prince is lying to her, but she can't help wanting to protect him from the dangers and intrigues of the court . . . until a deadly truth shatters the bond between them.

Now Isabel faces a choice that threatens her loyalty, her heart . . . and everything she thought she knew.” –Book Cover

Mistwood is a very mysterious world and we get to discover it’s secrets along side with Isabel. She is a mystical being, The Shifter, but she is suffering from some kind of amnesia and doesn’t know the extend of her powers. Legends says she is bound to protect the King, that she’s loyal, incredibly strong and indestructible. She was enthralled by the Prince Rokan, to protect him from unknown treat. But something is wrong and Isabel is intent on discovering why.

Mistwood is a journey of mysteries, lies, adventure and treason. The whole plot is developed to keep the reader on it’s toes. Allegiances are created and broken, secrets are revealed, but in the end Isabel doesn’t know if she can even trust her own instincts.

Cypess worked really hard to write an intricate but complicated story. A plot so full of twist and turns you never know what to expect next and she built the perfect characters for it.

Isabel doesn’t know who she is, doesn’t know to trust and she’s trying to find her own identity with sparse memory randomly coming back to her. She has feelings The Shifter shouldn’t have and don’t know how to deal with it. Drowned in insecurities, passion, love and anger, she is blindly trying to find her way.

Rokan is a loving man with good intensions but he is holding dark secrets. Is he holding critical information from Isabel in hopes of keeping her by his side. But not necessarily for the reasons he thinks.

The book is a lot about mind games and it was well developed, but I felt like the plot was stalling at some point and found myself craving for more action. The end fulfilled that need, but I’m not quite sure how I feel about it. It sure was surprising though.

Overall, this is a good YA Fantasy novel, so Kudos to debut author Leah Cypess. She built a completely out-of-the-box novel, in a fantastic medieval atmosphere.

Read an excerpt

 
 
Book Stats:
 
  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Greenwillow; 1 edition (April 27 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0061956996
  • ISBN-13: 978-0061956997
     
    Book Source: Review Copy sent by Harper Collins

  • First Rate Friday




    The goal of this new weekly meme is to share the best posts you've come across this week.
    Let's spread the love and support those awesome posts out there!
    It's impossible to follow every book blogger so hopefully this will also help in finding amazing new blogs as well.
    This Meme is officially hosted by Mel and was inspired by Jennifer at Reading with Tequila, Lisa at The Little Reader and yours truly! , so stop by to post your link!
     
     
    I’d like to start this week’s first rate Friday on a positive note, there’s been a lot of drama lately in the blogging community and Alyssa at Teens Read and Write took the time to celebrate a generous gesture from a fellow blogger!
     
    The Story Siren wrote this week a very interesting about about the difference between a Meme and a blog feature, have you been doing faux pas without knowing it?
     
    And finally, Steph of Steph Su Reads wrote a great post about What's missing in contemporary YA lit.

    Thursday, April 29, 2010

    Habs Won! (not book related)

    go_habs_go_by_sexytikiki You guys might not know, but I’m like the biggest hockey fan out there.

    My team is the Montreal Canadiens and we barely made it into the playoffs this season.

    For those of you not familiar, there is a total of 30 teams in the NHL and the 16 best teams by the end of the season competes to win the Stanley cup.

    My team finished 16th (so last), and we were facing the Washington Capitals, who finished very 1st.

    All the experts had very little faith in my team, but I believed!

    This picture was taken before the series started, and all my friends and I wrote down our predictions.

    CB is me, and as you can see I predicted Habs would win in 7 games.

    I’ve got faith in my team, but I knew it would be hard.

    The boys gave it there all and guess what? WE MADE IT!

    3 hours ago, the Montreal Canadiens bet the Washington Capitals in a 2-1 game (#7).

    I was so so happy I made the happy dance for a whole hour after we won, and I was working tonight, so I listened the game on the radio. It was so awesome and stressful geez I thought I might have an heart attack lol

    So anyway, I wanted to share my enthusiasm with you guys!

    And before you leave, click play below, it’s a remix of Lagy Gaga’s Bad Romance. Tribute to the Canadiens!

    Wednesday, April 28, 2010

    Archangel’s Kiss by Nalini Singh

    Archangel's Kiss - Small

    “ Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux wakes from a year-long coma to find herself changed—an angel with wings the colors of midnight and dawn—but her fragile body needs time to heal before she can take flight. Her lover, the stunningly dangerous archangel Raphael, is used to being in control—even when it comes to the woman he considers his own. But Elena has never done well with authority…
    They’ve barely begun to understand each other when Raphael receives an invitation to a ball from the archangel Lijuan. To refuse would be a sign of fatal weakness, so Raphael must ready Elena for the flight to Beijing—and to the nightmare that awaits them there. Ancient and without conscience, Lijuan holds a power that lies with the dead. And she has organized the most perfect and most vicious of welcomes for Elena…” –Book Cover

    ** Contains spoilers from the first book, Angels’ Blood only **

    After a year long coma, healing from the certain-death she survived at the end of the previous book, Elena finds herself in a position of weakness, status she is ready to change at all costs. She have to learn to use her new angel body, but it promises to be a hard journey because not everyone is happy with the presence of the first Made angel in living memory.

    The refuge isn’t a peaceful escape. A series of murders and bloody pranks are disturbing the sanctuary and some of these attacks are specifically aiming Elena. Surrounded by numbers of pissed off vamps, angels and archangels, Elena will do her best to train hard, learn Angels History and uncover the malevolent mastermind behind the carnage.

    Archangel’s Kiss is a great follow to Angels’ Blood. I had a great time following Elena’s steps into her new immortality and her new angel quality did nothing to her snappy attitude. Rebel to the bones, she finds herself fighting for her ground in her recent relationship with the Archangel Raphael. With two stubborn beings meeting in a face-off it can lead to catastrophe but they handled it fairly well. Both lovers are hunted by memories of the past and it was nice to finally discover more about their shady history.

    Elena has been training with a few of Raphael’s Seven and I particularly enjoyed those moments. Playful, yet dangerous, those moments added an edge to the story with Elena’s spicy and colorful remarks. Illium, also known as bluebell, was my favorite, followed closed behind by Jason, Raphael’s Spymaster. Dmitri is present in the first third of the book but will eventually vanish from the plot, except for a mention here and there.

    This book is once again filled with sexual tension and a fair amount of steamy scenes, even though I don’t feel like the scenes were necessary to the plot, it didn’t weight down the story either, so the balance was just fine.

    Singh managed to keep the suspense high in this book and we don’t discover who’s at the head of all the bloody events until nearly the end. I also liked the end, great final battle with room for a third book, without any gut wrenching cliff-hanging end.

    If you haven’t started this series yet, I strongly suggest it, but beware virgin eyes steamy scenes are an intricate part of those books.

    Read an Excerpt

     

    Guild Hunter Series:
    1. Angels' Pawn

    2. Angels' Blood

    3. "Angels' Judgment" in Must Love Hell Hounds anthology

    4. Archangel's Kiss

    Book Stats:

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley (MM); Original edition (Feb 2 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425233367
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425233368

     

    Book Source: Review copy sent by Penguin Canada

  • Tuesday, April 27, 2010

    Teaser Tuesday + Winners Announcement

    Teaser Tuesday

    Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along!

     

    I am currently reading Arcangel’s Kiss by Nalini Singh and I picked quite a quote for you this week!

    “ Elena didn’t take her eyes from Venom. The vampire held a hand over his bleeding arm, but his smile… slow. Taunting. Daring her to call him on it. Dropping her head, she lunged … and slammed the second blade right between his legs.” – p.236

     

     

     

    -----------------------------------

    Now is time to announce the winners of the Blue Aspen by Tenaya Jayne giveaway!

    2 winners were selected with random.org out of 50 entrants, here are the lucky ones!

    Giada M

    and

    Juliana

    I am about to email the pair of you, you will have 72 hours to get back to me with your mailing addresses or I will pick new winners.

    Congrats!

    Monday, April 26, 2010

    Beautiful Monday

    I am a big fan of Photography and in this feature, I will present you some pictures that I absolutely love!

    Please note that I do not own any copyrights on these images, and I will link to the artist to give them all the credit they deserve!
    I haven’t done this feature in a while, so I think it’s time I fill your day with beauty ^.-
    Parasol Light

    Once Upon a Time

    Beauty Breakdown

    Sunday, April 25, 2010

    Winner of the 600 followers giveaway!

    Good morning everyone! As you know the 600 followers giveaway ended last night, so it was time to pick a lucky winner with the help of random.org!

     

    What was the price again? A book of your choice from Book Depository.com (under 10$) and a lovely handmade cupcake necklace!

     

    Out of 138 entrants, the lucky winners is..

    Rae Reads

     

    Congratulation! I will email you about now, and you will have 72 hours to get back to me with your choice of book and your mailing address =)

     

    While I got your attention, there are still other giveaways going on, just take a look at the left sidebar!

    Saturday, April 24, 2010

    In My Mailbox

    In My Mailbox
    Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)

     

    Even with Book Depository closed for a few days I still got a great week!

    DSC00493

    For Review:

    White Cat by Holly Black- ARC

    Kiss of Death by Rachel Caine

    Whisper by Phoebe Kitanidis

     

    Bought:

    Black Dagger Brotherhood box set by J.R. Ward

     

    beforeIfall

    Also, remember my cover of Before I Fall ?

     

    Well it’s now time to vote over at Book Crazy!

    All the cover are really amazing, so go ahead and vote for your favorite =)

    Voters will also be eligible to win a prize! Don’t miss the opportunity *wink*

    Friday, April 23, 2010

    First Rate Friday




    The goal of this new weekly meme is to share the best posts you've come across this week.
    Let's spread the love and support those awesome posts out there!
    It's impossible to follow every book blogger so hopefully this will also help in finding amazing new blogs as well.
    This Meme is officially hosted by Mel and was inspired by Jennifer at Reading with Tequila, Lisa at The Little Reader and yours truly! , so stop by to post your link!

     

    This week was an awesome week so I have quite a few things to share with you!

    First of all, The Little Reader shared with us her thoughts about The Value of Opinions, which I found very interesting. Just because your favorite blogger doesn’t like a book, doesn’t mean you should refrain from buying it, because you might like it!

    Then I’d like to stop by The Bookette where the lovely Christina from Confessions of a Book Addict explained how the US education system works. Being an international blogger myself, I was totally at lost when it came to US schools, so I went to bed a little smarter after reading that post =)

    Book City Chick also wrote an interesting post about Blog Promotion, and I must admit I agree with her. I think that out of respect for authors who takes time to fill my interview questions, and publishers who send me review copies, I have to do at least a bit of promotion.

    Lori from Escape Between Pages wrote a post about Speed Reading and I gotta say I was not aware some people actually read like that, and I don’t think it would work for me. I am reading to enjoy a book, not get to the next asap, so I read every single words my books have to offer!

    Finally, I’d like to share with you a video of Richelle Mead, available at the Open Road Integrated Media.


    Thursday, April 22, 2010

    Trailer Thursday – Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready

    This meme was inspired both by Dark Fairie Tales and Stop, Drop and Read.

     

    I just saw the trailer on S&S Canada blog and I thought I would share with you!

    Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready

    Product Description:

    Love ties them together.
    Death can't tear them apart.

    Best. Birthday. Ever. At least, it was supposed to be. With Logan's band playing a critical gig and Aura's plans for an intimate after-party, Aura knows it will be the most memorable night of her boyfriend's life. She never thought it would be his last.

    Logan's sudden death leaves Aura devastated. He's gone.

    Well, sort of.

    Like everyone born after the Shift, Aura can see and hear ghosts. This mysterious ability has always been annoying, and Aura had wanted nothing more than to figure out why the Shift happened so she can undo it. But not with Logan’s violet-hued spirit still hanging around. Because dead Logan is almost as real as ever. Almost.

    It doesn't help that Aura’s new friend Zachary is so understanding—and so very alive. His support means more to Aura than she cares to admit.

    As Aura's relationships with the dead and the living grow ever complicated, so do her feelings for Logan and Zachary. Each holds a piece of Aura's heart…and clues to the secret of the Shift.

    Trailer:

    Tuesday, April 20, 2010

    Winner Announcement!

    The Branded by Kaery Taylor giveaway ended last night at midnight, so it’s time to randomly pick a winner =)

    The lucky one is…

    Julie G/Kittyism from Kittyism Is. blog!

    I am about to email you, you will have 48 hours to respond!

    Congrast!

    Morpheus Road: The Light giveaway

    Big Honcho Media contacted me a few weeks ago with this giveaway opportunity and I couldn’t say no could I?

    So here we are, 1 lucky commenter will win:

    $25 VISA gift card and copy of Morpheus Road: The Light

    here’s more details about this book by D.J. MacHale

    MorpheusRoadCoverSmall

    Marshall Seaver is being haunted. In the first installment of this chillingly compelling trilogy, sixteen-year-old Marshall discovers that something beyond our world is after him. The eerie clues pile up quickly, and when people start dying, it’s clear whatever this is it’s huge.
    Marshall has no idea what’s happening to him, but he’s soon convinced that it has something to do with his best friend Cooper, who’s been missing for over a week. Together with Coop’s sister, Marsh searches for the truth about what happened to his friend, ultimately uncovering something bigger than he could ever have imagined.



     

    Now what you have to do!

    You Must be a follower

    You Must fill the form

     

    Open to US only (sorry!)

    Ends May 4th, 2010

     

    FILL THE FORM

    Monday, April 19, 2010

    Shift by Rachel Vincent

    Shift

    “ Being the first female werecat enforcer isn't easy. Scars accumulate, but I'm stronger in so many ways.

    As for my personal life? It's complicated. Choices worth making always are. Ever since my brother's death and my father's impeachment, it's all I can do to prevent more blood from spilling. Now our Pride is under attack by a flight of vicious thunderbirds. And making peace with our new enemies may be the only way to get the best of our old foe.

    With the body count rising and treachery everywhere, my instincts tell me to look before I leap. But sometimes a leap of faith is the only real option….”

    ** this review contains spoilers from the previous books, but not from Shift **

    Shift is the fifth installment in the Shifters series. I had high expectations for this book, and let me tell you, I was not disappointed! Rachel wrote an amazing book once more and got me hooked from the first page!

    Prey was a really hard book, with the disappearance of Marc, and the epic battle to get him back, the death of my lovely Ethan and some X-rated action with Jace, the table was set for a tide of emotions in Shift. 

    Faythe’s Pride is trying to deal with the aftermath of Ethan’s death and the upcoming war. Several Alpha’s are united but no one saw the next boulder crashing on them: Thunderbirds. They attempt kidnapping on Kacy and kill two enforcers. Outnumbered and defenseless against an attack from the sky, the Pride is facing something they never felt before: Vulnerability. But they are not ready to give up.  In a desperate tentative to protect ladies and kids, Faythe and Kacy will end up at the mercy of a Flight of fifty or so full grown thunderbirds, and the future of the south-central Pride weighting on their shoulders.

    I am completely nuts for this series and Shift was no exception to my excitement. Vincent stepped-up the game once more when she introduced a completely foreign specie in the series with blazing success. You will get to find out the consequences of Ethan’s death, Jace and Faythe’s little adventure, you will find how low Malone and his crew can hit and how mentally strong Faythe is.

    The characters weren’t spared in this book, at page 120 or so there was already two dead Toms and an injured one, at some point I was wondering if there would be any characters left alive for Rachel to write Alpha. 

    Faythe is between a rock and a hard place in this book, both physically and emotionally.  She is dealing with a broken arm from the final battle in Prey and will indeed suffer some more injuries along the way, but she is not ready to give up. She is ready for all the pain in the world to save her family and I respect her for that. The psychological aspect is much harder, she is filled with guilt toward both Marc and Jace and even though she wants to confess to Marc, war and impending doom isn’t really a good time. She keeps thinking she isn’t good enough for M&J, not good enough to protect Kacy and that her Pride deserves better, but she will keep her head high and keep fighting.  Her growth is incredible since Stray and she will have to take some life changing decisions in this round.

    Poor Marc is completely oblivious to Faythe’s cheating and loves her unconditionally. He is aware Jace is acting weird but he thinks it’s because of his regretted best friend.  Jace on the other hand is more determinate than ever  to win over Faythe’s heart and is pushing her to confess to Marc, he is also constantly pushing Marc’s limits and it might not end up well.

    I LOVE every aspects of this book, the characters, the fantastic story, the rollercoaster of emotions you feel while reading this book. It’s all awesome. I truly don’t know how I’m gonna wait until October to read Alpha, and I don’t want it to end.

    Shift is fabulous, surprising, action-packed and just BEYOND! If you haven’t started this series yet, please run to the closest bookstore and buy Stray the first book in the series. You will love it and you will crave for more!

     

    Read an Excerpt

     

     

    Shifters Series:

    Stray

    Rogue

    Pride

    Prey

    Shift

    Alpha (Oct 2010)

     

    Book Stats:

  • Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Mira; Original edition (Mar 1 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0778327604
  • ISBN-13: 978-0778327608

     

    Book Source: Personal Shelf

  • Sunday, April 18, 2010

    In My Mailbox

    In My Mailbox
    Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)

     

    Another great week it was for my mailbox! Got a nice bunch of books I’m really excited for!

    DSC00481

    For Review:

    Mistwood by Leah Cypress (Thank you Harper Collins)

    Dreamland by Sarah Dessen (Sent to me by Ivy from Book Reader Times)

    The Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kane ARC (Thank you Stacey! This review will be posted during the Paranormal Summer Fest!)

    Won:

    Bad Girls don’t Die by Katie Alender (thank you StarShadow)

    Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles (thank you StarShadow)

    Bought:

    Shift by Rachel Vincent (finally got it!!! Can you believe I pre-ordered it in February?)

    Dead and Gone by Charlaine Harris

    Saturday, April 17, 2010

    The Knight Angels: Book of Love by Abra Ebner

    knights-cover-web_small

    "Who are you?” I asked.

    The nothingness whispered back.

    “I am Death.”

     

    When four teens enter Glenwood High, none of them knew the secrets they held were about to become their only defense.

    Love, hate, and friendship now binds them, but what they don’t yet know, is that this is just the beginning…

    Death is calling them home.

     

    Even though I really liked the concept for this book, I had my reservations when I started reading The Knight Angels because I had just read a book with multiple characters narration that gave me a little trouble. But The Knight Angels’ narration was really great and I can’t see how this story could have been told differently.

    We live this fabulous story from many perceptive, but mainly from five different ones:

    Jane: Older of two sisters who lived a near-death experience when she had a car accident with her father (who passed away) at age 7. She was left with rather odd talents.

    Emily: Jane’s younger sister is 16, troubled and taking drugs. She’s closing herself from everyone around her with goth style and loud music, but this is all an act to hide something bigger.

    Wes: Both girls neighbors, Wes is an orphan living with his elder adoptive parents. He is deeply in love with Jane, but he also have issues of his own.

    Max: He died almost a century ago in a tragic event and he is now an angel, roaming the earth for unclear reasons, but they are clearly tied to Jane.

    Greg: Max’s twin brother, Greg also died the night Max did, but he stayed behind for much darker reasons. He craves for power and will do anything to reach his goal.

    All of them are going to high school together, trying to find their path, all of them involved in complicated relationships, but Jane, Emilie and Wes will discover that there is more to this world than what eyes can see. They are all key elements in a Magick world. Their fate could change History.

     

    I really loved this book for many reasons, but I think the main one was that for the first time ever, I could relate to one of the main characters, namely Jane. Of course I don’t have any special powers, but her family issues  really hit home, so her feelings felt true to me. And it got me wondering if Emily’s point of view was how the other side of the fence felt when I’ve been in a similar situation.

    I’m talking about Jane, but all characters emotions felt right on point, so definitely two thumbs-up to Abra for that.

    The plot itself unfolds at a steady pace and you are wondering for quite a while what are each characters ability and how does it affect the story? The puzzle pieces eventually fit together brilliantly when characters learn more about themselves and their powers. It isn’t easy for them as they are all confused in a maelstrom of emotions and it makes it all even better, to see them doubt and seek answers.

    This book explores a very interesting perceptive on death, unfinished business and true love. Constantly putting it’s characters in a challenging position, questioning their beliefs and values.

    They will wonder who are their friends, whom can they trust. They will make mistakes, but will they get a second chance? When your life is on the line, the risks are high.

     

    I liked the end, I think everything wrapped-up very nicely and I find myself craving for more. I really want to know what’s next for our bunch of teenagers! I strongly suggest you pick this book: it's passionate and mysterious, be ready for a paranormal and emotional rollercoaster ride. You won't be disappointed!

     

    Head to The Knight Angels website to Read an excerpt

     
    The Knight Angels:
    Book of Love
    Book of Revenge
     
    Book Stats:
  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Crimson Oak Publishing LLC (April 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0982272588
  • ISBN-13: 978-0982272589

     

    Book Source: Review copy provided by Author/Publisher

  • Friday, April 16, 2010

    First Rate Friday




    The goal of this new weekly meme is to share the best posts you've come across this week.
    Let's spread the love and support those awesome posts out there!
    It's impossible to follow every book blogger so hopefully this will also help in finding amazing new blogs as well.
    This Meme is officially hosted by Mel and was inspired by Jennifer at Reading with Tequila, Lisa at The Little Reader and yours truly! , so stop by to post your link!
     
    This week’s post are rather serious, but very interesting so make sure you stop by and read them!
     
     
    First stop is Steph Su Reads’ post about plagiarism. It seems like some fabulous members of our community were wronged, and this post clears things out about, without pointing any fingers.
     
    Also, The Story Siren posted a very nice and informative post about cover reveals. Always wondered when it’s ok to post a new cover? Well she got answers from publisher themselves!
     
     
    Thanks for your participation! Don’t forget to go over at Mel’s blog and link your First Rate Friday posts =)

    Thursday, April 15, 2010

    Fan Art – Before I Fall by Lauren Olivier

    Hello my darlings!
    Once more I am joining Katie from Sophistikatied Reviews, to feature Fan Art!

     

    This week is a cover I created by Book Crazy Jenn’s last re-create a cover contest!

    I haven’t read Before I Fall, and she is giving away a copy, so I jumped on the occasion!

    Here’s my Entry:

    beforeIfall 

    Hope you like it!

    Wednesday, April 14, 2010

    Announcement + Waiting on Wednesday: Early to Death, Early to Rise by Kim Harrison

    I just wanted to let you guys know that I am being interviewed by the fantastic Vanessa over at Today’s Adventure! Make sure to stop by for her blog anniversary activities and to learn more about yours truly =)

    Waiting on Wednesday

     

    This book is second in the series, the first book is Once Dead, Twice Shy.

    Release date:  May 14th, 2010

    Product Description (from HarperCollins.com):

    *Contains spoilers from book 1, beware*

    Seventeen, dead, and in charge of heaven's dark angels—all itching to kill someone.

    Madison Avery's dreams of ever fitting in at her new school died when she did. Especially since she was able to maintain the illusion of a body, deal with a pesky guardian angel, and oh yeah, bring the reaper who killed her to his untimely end. Not exactly in-crowd material. It's amazing that her crush, Josh, doesn't think she's totally nuts.

    Now Madison has learned that she's the dark timekeeper, in charge of angels who follow the murky guidelines of fate. Never one to abide by the rules, she decides it's time for a major change to the system. With the help of some unlikely allies, Madison forms a rogue group of reapers who definitely don't adhere to the rules of the heavens.

    But as she grapples with the terrifying new skills that come with being a timekeeper, Madison realizes she may not be prepared for what lies ahead—unless she gets some seriously divine intervention.

    Tuesday, April 13, 2010

    Wings by Aprilynne Pike

    1058859-gf

    “Laurel was mesmerized, staring at the pale things with wide eyes. They were terrifyingly beautiful—too beautiful for words.

    Laurel turned to the mirror again, her eyes on the hovering petals that floated beside her head. They looked almost like wings.

    Laurel’s life is the very definition of normal… until the morning when she wakes up to discover a flower blooming from her back. As it turns out, nothing in Laurel’s life is what it seems. Now, with the help of an alluring faerie sentry who olds the key to her true past, Laurel most race to save her human family from the centuries-old faerie enemies who walk among them” – Book Cover

    Laurel grew up in a small town, homeschooled, never been to a doctor, and is vegetarian. She is very reluctant to move to a bigger town and start going to school, but it will soon enough be the lesser of her problems. She will soon discover she isn’t even human. Her new friend David will help her in her quest to find out what she really is. And they will both discover more than they bargained for.

    In a very special faery tale, Laurel, David and Tamani will fight brutal enemies to protect their lives and a world you can only dream of.

    Wings is a really nice story that picked up slowly for me, but ended in a rollercoaster of emotions.

    Laurel is a really shy but special girl. She isn’t really aware of her beauty and the effect it has on people around her, and I think it makes her an even more beautiful person. Throughout the book she’s trying really hard to deal with the changes in her life, and makes it a priority to protect her loved one in the process. David is a real sweet boy, helping Laurel discover her true nature and being there for her all the time. He really loves her, but he is kind of awkward about it, which is pretty cute. Tamani is a faery sentry bound to protect Laurel, and he is acting really mysteriously, we get to know him better as the story progress and he really wins at getting known, he’s great!

     

    I liked the world Aprilynne built in this book. A very original tale that unfolds itself very nicely. You don’t know much of what’s going on at first, but the more you learn and the more you want to know. As is it, we still have a lot to learn, and I am hoping Spells (the second book) will put some light on the mystery still hanging around Avalon (the feary world). I also think the fearies’ origins is quite surprising, I had never read a lore like that before so it was refreshing. There was this discussion about half way into the book about “where babies come from”, which was awesome. I still giggle thinking back lol.

     

    I wish I could tell you more about the book, but it would be hard to do without giving any spoilers so I will end my review saying that Wings is a great debut novel, with a well knitted plot, and if you like faeries, you should most definitely give this book a try. It’s like nothing you ever read before!

     

    Browse Inside the book

     

    In this series:

    Wings

    Spells

     

    Book Stats:

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Tween (tw); 1 Reprint edition (April 6 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0061668052
  • ISBN-13: 978-0061668050

     

    Book Source: Review Copy sent by HarperCollins

  • Monday, April 12, 2010

    Guest Post and Giveaway with Tenaya Jayne author of Blue Aspen

    1 Cup of reality, 3 tbsp fantasy, beat on high for two minutes
    My Pic Small Ver

    First of all I want to thank Tynga for giving me a guest spot and this topic. I don’t claim to be an  expert on anything, but finding the right mix of fantasy and reality was something that weighed heavily on my mind while I wrote my novel, Blue Aspen. I’m a very analytical person; whenever I read a book or watch a movie, I dissect it. Why did I hate it? Why did I love it? To my way of thinking, down to the smallest detail, what was done well or poorly? For me, writing fiction is like a massive jigsaw puzzle. There are lots of dream sequences in my novel and times when I blur the line between fantasy and reality. It’s wonderful to read the different impressions of my readers. Some consider Blue Aspen chilling, while others think of it as a poetic romance. Psychological, PNR, fantasy, thriller, mystery, and magical realism, they all fit. I certainly blurred the genre lines.

    When you intend to blur the lines how blurry do you make them? Well, that’s one of the best things about books; there’s something for everyone’s taste. Books and movies that play out like real dreams don’t hold my attention because real dreams are nonsensical. I don’t feel any anticipation for what might be coming next when the main character might be swimming and the next moment baking bread. I have read books like that, or tried to.

    Dreams can be a slippery slope in fiction. While your own dreams may interest and delight you, how often have you been entertained by the recounting of someone else’s? I used my heroine’s dreams as devices to achieve a few things: help the reader become acquainted with who she is, who her lover is, and to convey ideas, subtly. It was my desire for the fantasy element to propel the story forward, and to be the icing on the cake. Did I get the right mix? I tried, but there again is a matter of opinion. It’s up to you to decide.

    It was my ultimate goal for Blue Aspen to have a sweet tongue and a sharp tooth, much like my heroine’s lover. For those of you who decide to read it, it is my sincere hope that you enjoy the ride. Thanks again to Tynga, and to all of you. Happy reading!
    -Tenaya Jayne

    ----------------------------

    Tenaya generously offered TWO personalized hardcover copies of her book Blue Aspen with handmade (by Tenaya herself) bookmarks! How fabulous is that?

    When seventeen-year-old Dulcee Elders' mother embarks on a road trip from their home in California, Dulcee knows something odd is about to happen. Her suspicions are confirmed when they arrive at Uncle Jack's house outside of Durango, Colorado. Without another word, Dulcee's mother is gone, and Dulcee faces life with her reclusive and wealthy uncle in a looming rural mansion.



    Dulcee has suffered from insomnia ever since her father died more than ten years ago. But once at home at Uncle Jack's, inexplicably Dulcee now can sleep; sleep brings not only strange and intricate dreams, but a dream lover. For now, Vincent Sands is only the silhouette of a man, but when Uncle Jack leaves town for business, Dulcee's dream world and reality collide. Once she is alone, the silhouette is no longer content to remain only in her dreams.



    When Dulcee is asleep, Vincent can give her anything she wants, even the ability to talk to her dead father. Inevitably, Vincent must leave when Uncle Jack returns. Dulcee experiences the high price of loving Vincent-an addiction rivaling that of any hard-core drug. Desperate to bridge the gap between them, Dulcee faces a crucial decision that carries irreversible consequences.


    Now to enter, All you have to do is:
    Be a follower (you can click the follow button on the right side to become one)

    Open Internationnaly
    Contest ends April 26th, 2010.

    Sunday, April 11, 2010

    In My Mailbox

    In My Mailbox
    Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)

    This week was another great week for my mailbox, I ordered a few books but they aren’t here yet.
    So the following books are all for review!
    DSC00466
    Lover Mine by J.R. Ward
    received from Penguin Canada. I hadn’t read this series yet so I ordered the Box Set of the first 6 books in the series!
    Immortal by Gillian Shield and Voices of Dragons by Carrie Vaughn
    both books sent by Harper Collins <3
    and last but not least
    Knight Angels book of love by Abra Ebner
    Thank you Abra!

    What did you get?

    Saturday, April 10, 2010

    Positive or Negative reviews? Where’s the line?

    After reading Lenore’s post Book Bloggers Behaving Badly: Are you on an author’s “hate list”? and more precisely this section:

    Send your links of bad reviews to authors or @ reply them on twitter. Of course you have the right the write an honest review – but why do you want to throw a less than stellar critique in an author’s face? Says one author (sarcastically): I love when book bloggers are really rude about my books on their blog, and then tweet their reviews with my twitter name attached, so it shows up for me. And then other people RT it, because they have no idea it’s a bad review…because who would do that?

    I’ve been asking myself, what’s the definition of a bad review?

    First of all I prefer saying Positive and Negative reviews because I think Good and Bad reviews refers more to the bloggers writing skills/talent than the actual opinion of the book.

    I’m gonna use some of my reviews here to try an explain my dilemma.

    ____

    I think sometimes it’s pretty clear when a review is positive because you only have praise for this book, here’s a few examples:

    Fire by Kristin Cashore

    City of Glass by Cassandra Clare (slight spoilers if you haven’t read the firs 2 books)

    Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

    ____

    On the other opposite, some reviews are clearly negative, and here’s my only review to fit the bill, I think:

    Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves

    Yes the review is certainly negative, but is it a bad review? I don’t think so. Backed up my opinion with reasons why, gave links to other reviews for the readers to have access to other opinions and did it all with respect for the author (or at least I meant to).

    ____

    I think the tricky part is the in-betweens. and let’s be honest most of our reviews fit in that grey-zone category. You can’t love every single details of a book. Does it make your review negative if you mention the points you didn’t like?

    Personally I don’t think so, I think it makes the review honest and gives pointers to authors (if they read it) as to what their reading ship likes and don’t, for future books. But hey, maybe I’m wrong!

    Here’s some of those reviews:

    The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

    ShadowFae by Erica Hayes

    Midnight’s Daughter by Karen Chance

     

    So I’m asking you, where’s the line between a Positive and a Negative review?

    Also, If you are an author, please let us know *g*

    Friday, April 09, 2010

    My Love Lies Bleeding by Alyxandra Harvey

    love_lies_bleeding02

    “ Solange has always known she is a vampire. And as the only female vampire ever born, not initiated, she is surrounded by danger on all sides – from other vampire tribes who want to take her blood into their lineage, and from the bounty hunters who are set on destroying her and her family.

    When she is kidnapped, it’s up to her elder brother, Nicholas, and best friend, Lucy, to save her.

    But can Lucy save herself from Nicholas, who temps her with every look – what will be her own fate if she surrenders her heart to a vampire?” – Book Cover

     

    There is an ancient prophecy in the vampire community that says a female vampire will be born to the Drake family and she will become queen. Solange is the first ever female vampire born, and it doesn’t make everyone happy, including herself. Solange doesn’t want to be queen for one, and she is tired of being curtsied by other vampire clans who wants her to give them vampire babies, or her power. She is tired of bounty hunters trying to put an end to her life, and most of all she is sick of being over protected by her seven older brothers. Thankfully, she has her best friend Lucy to keep her from going insane.

     

    Lucy is human, grew up with the Drake family as if it was her own, and she would do anything for her best friend. She might not be the object of a prophecy but she also has problems of her own. Trying to keep Solange alive being her biggest concern, but she also has to deal with a weird and sudden attraction for Nicholas, Solange’s brother, whom she always enjoyed bothering and broke his nose at more than one occasion.

     

    My Love Lies Bleeding (or it’s US version, Heart at Stake, which title I think makes more sense by the way) is a great debut novel from Alyxandra Harvey.  A good vampire story with interesting Lore, filled with action and hard decisions, and a spark of romance. It has all the needed ingredients for a good Paranormal YA book.

     

    I have to point out that the narration is rather original. Every chapters or so the narration switches back and forth between Solange and Lucy. It has the biggest advantage to display all the action, taking place at different locations at same time and gives us an exclusive window to both main character’s feeling with a first person narration.  Even though the narrator is clearly stated at the beginning of every chapters (in bold!), I had to adjust at the beginning because I would get confused as to which character’s POV I was reading. But this is most likely due to my goldfish memory.

     

    I really loved the story, you can relate to both girls and I liked their emotional dilemma. The end hinted at potential love stories, and I was sad not to get to read them. I’m a sucker for romance and I wanted more! I’m hoping we’ll get more info in the following book, Blood Feud, but the main characters are different in the second installment, so I’m not getting my hopes to high.

     

    While the main character were well embodied, I wished Solange’s brothers were more concrete. They are mentioned many times, involved in fights, but we don’t really know much about them (except Nicholas). So hopefully we will get to discover them in the following books.

     

    If you like Young Adult Vampire books, I suggest you pick this book, the second will release in June so you still have some time to catch up before the next round!

     

    Read an excerpt

     

     

    The Drake Chronicles:

    My love Lies Bleeding (Heart at Stake)

    Blood Feud (June 2010)

     

    Book Stats:

  • Paperback: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books (Jan 4 2010)
  • ISBN-10: 1408803402
  • ISBN-13: 978-1408803400
  • Product Dimensions: 19.2 x 12.8 x 2.2 cm

     

    Book Source: Personal Shelf

  • First Rate Friday




    The goal of this new weekly meme is to share the best posts you've come across this week.
    Let's spread the love and support those awesome posts out there!
    It's impossible to follow every book blogger so hopefully this will also help in finding amazing new blogs as well.
    This Meme is officialy hosted by Mel and was inspired by Jennifer at Reading with Tequila, Lisa at The Little Reader and yours truly! , so stop by to post your link!

    I really have a nice bunch of posts to show you this week starting with a post by Lauren Kate (Author of Fallen), often people asks writing tips to authors and I think that post is definitely a good pointer. Show make sure to check out On Curiosity.

    Yesterday, there was an awesome post over at Presenting Lenore about the Do's and Don'ts of author/bloggers interactions. Great advice for new bloggers!

    Worried about the environment? Confessions of a bookworm posted about a very interesting initiative!
    A new initiative from Germany called "Make it green!" is working to increase awareness of the environmental impact of carbon emissions, part of which is the gigantic carbon footprint left by internet use and more specifically, blogs. Part of their efforts will be focused on trying to neutralize the carbon footprint of blogs. Are you ready to help?
    Write a short blog post about the program- “My blog is carbon neutral”, and place one of the buttons on your site! Send the link to your blog to CO2-neutral@kaufda.de and they'll plant a tree for you! Thus, you will have neutralized the carbon dioxide emissions of your blog!!!
    Make sure to click the link above for more details!

    and last but not least, Larissa from Book Lovers Inc started a discussion about The Price of Our Addiction, stop by to weight in your opinion!

    Thursday, April 08, 2010

    Fan Art – Georgina Kincaid series

    Hello my darlings!
    Once more I am joining Katie from Sophistikatied Reviews, to feature Fan Art!

    Here are two very kool fan art for Richelle Mead’s Succubus series!
    First one was made by Comic Artist Megan Battista Steckler


    Second is a Succubus Blues cover art, by GSouza
     

    Wednesday, April 07, 2010

    Waiting on Wednesday – The Knight Angels by Abra Ebner

    Waiting on Wednesday
    “ When seventeen-year-old Jane Taylor witnessed her father’s death at age seven, something happened to her. Ever since, her thoughts have been consumed by death, going so far as to foresee the ever-changing deaths of those around her.
    Sixteen-year-old Emily Taylor always resented her sister’s closeness with their father, who died when she was only six. Ever since she can remember, she’s had the strange ability to read minds, something her father held the key to. Left helpless, she drowns herself in a world of prescription drugs, sending her responsible older sister Jane – who acted as the mother her real mother refused to be – over the edge.
    Seventeen-year-old Wes Green was adopted as a baby, left carelessly by parents that clearly did not love him. He moved in next door to Jane, sharing an alleyway window and finding in her a childhood friend that soon turned into his high-school crush. All summer, though, the pain that’s been wracking his body seemed to come with no explanation. He was done growing, was plenty healthy, and worked out regularly as a member of the wrestling team. When senior year starts, though, and the pain gets worse, the changes ahead of him are anything but what he expected, and far to animal for his taste.
    When Max Gordon, doomed to be a teenager for the next thousand years, found himself standing above her dying body, he saw in her bright eyes something he hadn’t seen in the nearly one-hundred-years he’d spent roaming Earth. Her father was already dead, but there was a chance he could still save her from the wreck. Jane was her name, and she was only seven, but already she was all he ever wanted. It was his job to bring her back, but it was an act that could have been the biggest mistake of his life.
    When four teens enter Glenwood High on an unseasonably cool day in September, no one but Max could understand the future that was ahead of them. Drawn together by blood and friendship, they each hide a dark secret that will soon help to bind them even closer.
    When the one face Max hoped to never see again shows up on school grounds – his evil twin brother, Greg – he knows that coming back for Jane was the wrong thing to do. Finding that Greg already knows about Max’s attraction for Jane, Max finds he can no longer hope to leave again, afraid of what Greg will do.
    Max has to protect Jane, Jane wants to be normal, Wes wants Jane to love him, and Emily just wants the voices to stop…
    And Greg… he just wants everyone dead.”


     
    How awesome does that book sound?
    The official release is date May 1st, 2010 (Source being the author herself!)
     

    Monday, April 05, 2010

    Hush, hush by Becca Fitzpatrick


    For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her...until Patch comes along.
    With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment.
    But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is far more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.
    For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.”
    –Book Cover
    Nora is a normal teenager, she’s working hard at school to obtain a scholarship, and is enjoying herself with her best friend Vee. Everything will change when one random morning, Coach, the biology teacher, decided the change the seats chart and Nora ends up with Patch. New student, dark and mysterious Patch. From that exact moment, everything goes downhill. Nora has these creepy feelings of being stalked all the time, and Patch is hunting all her thoughts. She knows he is hiding something, she knows she should stay away from him: he seems so dangerous, but she can’t help herself. She needs to know more. Will curiosity kill the cat?

    I love, Love, LOVE this book. Shame on me it’s been sitting on my to-be-read shelf for so long. Becca created in her debut novel a fantastic world where Bible myths collides with the modern society. Hush, hush is a tale full of mystery and suspense I guaranty you won’t be able to put down!

    One of the strongest point of this book is the Characters. Nora seems to be an average girl, lives with her mom who seems to be away more than at home, her dad passed away not so long ago and she doing her best to keep everything afloat. I think Patch as the best description of her: “Intelligent. Attractive. Vulnerable.” Nora had never been interested in boys and she’s really confused in this whole new situation. Not only can’t she figure out what are her feelings for Patch, but Eliott, a new transfer, is also messing the cards trying to seduce her. Becca really managed to make the reader feel Nora’s confusion and it’s the key of this story. Where lies the truth? Who should she trust?
    Patch is beyond awesome. Bad boy to the bones, cryptical and obscure. The perfect teenage girl fantasy. But will you be burnt if you get to close? He seems so perfectly confidant and in control, but is he really? You’ll have to jump on the Hush, hush wagon to find out, and you won’t be disappointed!

    I really liked the mythology Becca used in her book, and how everything unfolds near the end. She keeps you in the dark for so long, and even though you have a vague idea of what’s going on it was nice to finally discover what it’s all about.

    The end was great, there are so many suspects as to who’s following Nora, who might kill her, that it’s hard to put your finger on a culprit. I had guessed before the hand who was guilty, but it could have been anyone really.  “The final battle” if I may call it that way, was fantastic. Fast-paced, full of adrenaline and surprises.

    If you haven’t read that book yet, you really have to. It has everything young and not-so-young readers are looking for in a Young Adult novel. Romance, Action, Mystery and a Sexy Male Character *winks*.
    Browse the book



    In this series:
    Hush, hush
    Crescendo (Nov. 2010)

    Book Stats:

  • Hardcover: 400 pages



  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing (Oct 13 2009)



  • Language: English



  • ISBN-10: 1416989412



  • ISBN-13: 978-1416989417

    Book Source: Personal Shelf
  • Branded by Keary Taylor Giveaway

    BRANDED COVER (2) - Copy " My parents always insisted that the nightmares weren’t real. They couldn’t be real. The scars that covered my neck and back proved otherwise.

    For Jessica, sleep brings the terror of facing a council of angels and being sentenced for deeds she did not commit, deeds of the dead. Angels aren’t what most people believe them to be. They’re terrifying. To avoid the horror of the angels, she forces herself to sleep as little as possible. Jessica has no choice but to lead a life of isolation but when the house she lives in is abruptly taken control of by Alex Wright, things are going to have to change. She must try to hide the truth from him while living in the same house, and for the first time in her life, details linked to the nightmares are changing.

    When Cole Emerson moves in next door, Jessica knows there is something different about him. He seems familiar in a frightening and foreign way. All he seems to want is Jessica.

    While Jessica tries to sort out her feelings for two very different men, she becomes ill, something she has never experienced in her life. She soon realizes there is nothing she can do to stop the events that are quickly pulling her toward her own final judgment. " - Product description

    Keary Taylor contacted me last month about her self-published book, Branded and generously offered a signed copy to a lucky follower!
    If you wanna find more about this book, please click here.

    Now how to win?

    You must be a follower or subscriber.
    You must fill the form.

    Easy enough right?

    Open to US and Canada only.
    Ends April 19th, 2010.

    Sunday, April 04, 2010

    Num8ers and Shadowglass Giveaways Winners

    First of all, thanks everyone for entering both contests!
    A winner was randomly picked from the 47 entrants for a copy of Shadowglass,
    the winner is.. Elaing8 !

    The three winners, out of 72 entries for a copy of Num8ers are..
    and

    In My Mailbox

    In My Mailbox
    Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)

    First of all, I know this week’s IMM is quite impressive, but keep in mind it’s the books I received in the past 2 weeks ^^
    DSC00463
    For Review:
    Wings by Aprilynne Pike (Thank you Harper Collins)
    DSC00460 DSC00462 DSC00465
    from giveaways:
    - The entire Anna Strong series by Jeanne Stein (signed)
    + Grocery bag + 2 pen + Magnets + Evil Plastic Duck!
    - First Drop of Crimson by Jeaniene Frost (signed)
    - Succubus Blues and Succubus Nights by Richelle Mead, French Edition (signed)
    and I am being lazy and won’t list all the titles from the last picture, it’s a box of books I won over at Book Soulmates a while ago.
    Thank you!
    DSC00464
    Bought:
    Shadows by Amy Meredith
    The Van Alen Legacy by Melissa de la Cruz
    Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
    Kitty and the Dead Man’s Hand by Carrie Vaughn
    The Mage in Black by Jaye Wells

    What did you get this week?

    Saturday, April 03, 2010

    600 followers giveaway!

    *Happy Dance*

    I just made it to 600 followers, and as promised here's another giveaway for you!

    What's up for grab?

    A book of your choice from bookdepository.com (under 10$)
    and
    This lovely necklace!
    bought from Heather on Etsy.

    Simple rules:
    You Must be a follower (New or Old)
    You Must Fill the Form.

    Open Everywhere Bookdepository.com ships, but I will ship the necklace only to Canada/US
    (so if an INT reader wins, I'll send them a book and will draw a second winner for the necklace)

    Contest Ends April 24th, 2010.