**Notice** Due to transfering back from a godaddy hosted wordpress blog back to blogger, reviews published before june 2017 don`t all have a pretty layout with book cover and infos. Our apologies.

Thursday, March 08, 2012

Daring You To Read…Lord of the Fading Lands by C.L. Wilson


Lord of the Fading Lands is the first book of five from C.L. Wilson’s Fading Lands fantasy/romance series. I fell in love with this series when the first two books came out back to back, late in 2007. Even if it’s not recent, for my first Daring You to Read, I chose Lord of the Fading Lands. I usually don’t read true fantasy novels and tend to stick to urban fantasy and paranormal romance, but sometimes I like to try something different. And this series is well worth the try.
In the first book, we are introduced to the Fey, who risk extinction if they cannot save their brethren, the Tairen. The Tairen are magnificent, winged and giant cats, while the Fey take on a human form and have strong magical powers. They are somehow linked together and one race’s survival depends on the other. Somehow, the Tairen are dying out and have only one breeding female left.
Rainier vel’En Daris, or Rain, is not only the King of the Fey but also a Tairen Soul. He is one of the few who have been gifted with both the Fey and Tairen shape. He can change from one shape to the other at will. After seeing how close to extinction the Tairen really are, he has decided to face the truth and save his people. After hundreds of years of passive neglect, he is determined to find a way to save the Fey and the Tairen. Even if that means leaving the Fading Lands and venturing out into Celieria, the kingdom he almost destroyed with his fire, during his grief-stricken madness. When he enters Celieria, he finally finds his truemate Ellysetta Baristani, or Ellie. He believe the mating between himself and Ellie will lead to the salvation of his people and that Ellie will help save them all.
The whole series follows Rain and Ellie’s relationship, which slowly develops through strong love and the mutual goal of saving the Fey. However, nothing comes easily and they must fight against the evil mages of Eld in order to bring peace back into the world. They must also face adversaries closer to home, whom are against the mating of a Fey with a human girl.
Even if the author recaps briefly what happens in the previous books, I highly recommend these books be read close to one another. A lot of things transpire in each book, and things can easily be forgotten.
You know when an author is very dedicated to her world when she creates new languages. Inserted in the dialogue from time to time, words from the Fey, Celierian and Eld languages make things feel personal and exotic. Of course, sometimes you forget what a certain words mean, but a convenient glossary is printed in the back of some book editions. But overall, these languages add more depth and complexity to the fantasy world.
It’s hard to believe that originally, this was supposed to be a trilogy. The first book was almost a thousand page and the author was asked to split it into two. Two more books followed them, but the ending did not. The author believed an additional installment was needed in order to have a more complete series, and the fifth book was published in 2010. I’m glad everything wasn’t condensed into a trilogy. This series deserved more than three books since all the small, little details added charm and depth to the epic story.

There are so many good reason to read this series but I don’t want to reveal anything else. So, I dare you to try it yourself—I dare you to read Lord of the Fading Lands.

lord of the fading lands
Once he had scorched the world.

Once he had driven back overwhelming darkness.

Once he had loved with such passion, his name was legend...


Now a thousand years later, a new threat calls him from the Fading Lands, back into the world that had cost him so dearly. Now an ancient, familiar evil is regaining its strength, and a new voice beckons him--more compelling, more seductive, more maddening than any before.

As the power of his most bitter enemy grows and ancient alliances crumble, the wildness in his blood will not be denied. The tairen must claim his truemate and embrace the destiny woven for him in the mists of time.


The rest of the Fading Lands series:
lady of light and shadows wilson - king of sword ans sky wilson - queen of song and souls wilson - crown of crystal flame

Want to participate in Daring You To Read? Here’s how:

- You choose a book you’ve read, loved and would dare your readers to read!

- The book you choose must be an older release (at least 6 months ago), because let’s be honest, we’re all quite aware of the latest releases.

- Write your own blog post, using the button and linking back to Tynga’s Reviews, inviting your readers to read your chosen book.

- Come back on Tynga’s Reviews and put your link in the linking tool.

- Browse other bloggers Dare and let them know if you’ve read their featured book, or plan on reading it.

- Super easy and an awesome way to discover that special book who might have slipped off your radar!

Don’t forget to add your own Daring You To Read… post in the linky below.


14 People left their mark' :

  1. Looks like a great series! I will have to check it out. :-)

    1. It is a great series. Full of action and you never get bored.

  2. I have heard so many good things about this series so while bargain book hunting I've kept an eye out for them. I currently have book 1 and 2 sitting on my bookshelf so I think its about time I started reading them.

    1. Yes, do start reading them. You'll be hooked in no time!

  3. Ooo one of my favourite series! I was so looking forward to her next book, and now that has been postponed to December 2013!

    1. One of my favorite series too! I hate that it has been postponed too.

  4. Oh I own the first two books in this series but I keep putting off reading it because fantasy stories are always pretty intense. I can't wait to start this now.

    Thanks for the dare

    1. Once you get past the initial description of the fantasy world, it reads very easily and it become more about the characters and their hardships. But yes, it can be a bit intense sometimes, but not too much for my taste. Like I said, I usually don't read straight fantasy but I loved this one!

  5. This series sounds very good .. I definitely need to check out the first book !! Thanks for bringing this to my attention Stéphanie !! :)

  6. Your right. This series is fantastic! The good part about CL Wilson? Her righting is soooo good =O) The bad part? She puts her all into her righting so it takes her a long time to release books. It's pure torture for her fans LOL!

    1. I'm glad I found another fan! I completely agree with you. It is torture.

      Good news, she's working on a new book called The Winter King and you can read the blurb on her website. (http://clwilson.com/the-books/coming-soon/). But I wouldn't expect anything for another year...

    2. I know not to expect any definite dates when it comes to Cheryl. When I was waiting for Queen and King to come out I didn't have access to a computer so I kept on calling B&N over and over again as well as asking friend to look for information about them LOL! Finally, when Crown came out I was ecstatic! Plus, Cheryl did a month long "countdown to release day" contest on her blog that was had daily questions and challenges. It was really fun!

  7. Thanks so much, Stephanie! I'm so thrilled that you chose LORD as your "Dare to Read!" I hope the ones who take up your dare enjoy the books! :)