Tuesday, January 29, 2013

“When I’m not writing…” with Angie Fox + giveaway!

Angie Fox Our last “When I’m not writing…” guest post for the month is by Angie Fox! You may know her from her Accidental Demon Slayer series but she’s here today to promote IMMORTALLY YOURS and the upcoming IMMORTALLY EMBRACED, the first two books in her new Monster M*A*S*H series. It’s set in a paranormal M*A*S*H unit and is sure to appeal to fans of Molly Harper and Kerrelyn Sparks.

Enjoy the post and make sure to stick around for the giveaway to win your own copy of any one of her Accidental Demon Slayer books!

WINW_logo

Thanks for having me on the blog! I’ve enjoyed reading the other “When I’m not writing” posts and am glad to join in. My name is Angie Fox and I write paranormals that feature demon slayers and biker witches.

In my spare time, I get to research all the fun things I write about in the books. Let’s just say it’s been an adventure. I’m a wife, a mom and one of those people who can be a little shy at times. To the point where I never predicted my writing would put me on the back of a coal black Harley Davidson, with an Irish Setter in tow.

Angie Fox Harley Dog 44

I’d set out to write a paranormal about a straight-laced preschool teacher turned demon slayer who has to run off with a gang of geriatric biker witches. But my heroine has a smart-mouthed dog that, thanks to her new powers, can talk…and talk…and talk. And I really loved that dog. What’s a writer to do? Well, I went online and learned that there is a nationwide club of Harley bikers who ride with their dogs. So my heroine could have her pink Harley, and her Jack Russell Terrier too.

Angie Fox Biker Dog 37Angie Fox Biker Dog 39

And of course I had to meet these Harley riding dog lovers. I called up a few of the members of a Biker Dogs Motorcycle Club and the fun began. They’ve invited me into their homes, introduced me to their dogs and, like my heroine, the bikers have hoisted me up on the back of their Harleys, with dogs in tow.

Things I learned right off the bat:

1. After an hour on a Harley, you’ll walk like John Wayne for a week
2. Helmets hurt when they are worn backwards
3. Dogs love riding motorcycles

Stone, the biker who has spent the most time making sure I don’t fall off his hog has even invited me to some biker rallies (note to self: don’t wear pink next time). Another one of the bikers I’ve met has a wife who is a biker witch. (And here I thought I was making this stuff up). Every time I go out with the bikers, I find fun little touches to add to the books. Plus, it’s a blast.

So if you ever see me heading down the highway, wave. And I’ll do the same.

Angie Fox Biker Dog 39

———————————

Thanks for stopping by, Angie! What a great post!

For more information about Angie and her books, check out her website or follow her on Facebook or Twitter.

———————————

Here’s the scoop on IMMORTALLY YOURS:

Immortally Yours by Angie FoxIN THE WAR BETWEEN THE GODS…
No one patches up the incoming wounded like Dr. Petra Robichaud. Recruited by the gods for her uncanny medical skills, she’s the best M*A*S*H surgeon in the army. Along with a nosy guard sphinx, vegetarian werewolf, and other paranormal paramedics, she bandages soldiers who are built like Greek gods (literally.) But when one sexy immortal ends up on her operating table—half dead and totally to-die-for—Petra’s afraid she’ll lose her patient and her heart…

NOTHING IS MORE DANGEROUS THAN LOVE
Commander Galen of Delphi is one gorgeous but stubborn demi-god. When his spirit tries to slip out of his fatally wounded body, Dr. Petra has to slip it back in—unwittingly revealing her ability to see ghosts. Now that Galen knows her secret, he’s convinced she’s part of an ancient prophesy. If the oracles are right, Petra could lead Galen’s army to peace. And if he seduces her on the way to hell and back? Heaven knows—all’s fair in love and war…

Read an excerpt

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

Here’s the scoop on IMMORTALLY EMBRACED:

Immortally Embraced by Angie FoxIN THE BATTLE OF THE SEXES…
Even during a truce, Dr. Petra Robichaud has her hands full as the M*A*S*H surgeon to an army of warring gods—especially when Medusa herself turns up pregnant. Petra has no idea what to expect when a gorgon’s expecting, but she won’t let it turn her to stone. As the healer-hero of an ancient prophesy, it’s Petra’s job to keep the peace. But as the lover to a warrior demi-god, she knows how impossible some jobs can be…

IT’S EVERY GOD FOR HIMSELF.
Commander Galen is sexy, strong, and sworn to lead his team to hell and back. But when he announces to Petra that he can no longer risk her life for his love, the doctor is on her own… Until a mysterious new entity—in the form of a hot-blooded male—enters the picture. Can he be trusted? Can he be resisted? Meanwhile, an oracle delivers another prophesy that places Petra back on the frontlines with the man she may be bound to for eternity—in love, or in war…

Read an excerpt

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

Click on the covers to learn about the Accidental Demon Slayer series:

The Accidental Demon Slayer by Angie FoxThe Dangerous Book for Demon Slayers by Angie FoxA Tale of Two Demon Slayers by Angie FoxLast of the Demon Slayers by Angie Fox

———————————

giveaway

Angie is graciously providing one (1) lucky winner with a copy of his or her choice of a book of her Accidental Demon Slayer series!

To enter the giveaway, obey the Rafflecopter!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

———————————

Do you guys have suggestions for who you’d like to see featured on the blog? If so, you can make your suggestions on this page. No guarantees that your favorite authors will be able to participate but we’ll try!

Authors, would you like to visit and share with us? Please email me at jennblogs (at) gmail (dot) com and we’ll set it up!

Jenn

The following two tabs change content below.
Born and raised in the Toronto area, Jenn is now in northeast England after a 10 year stop in St. John's, Newfoundland.

29 People left their mark on ““When I’m not writing…” with Angie Fox + giveaway!”

  1. miki

    I love learned how inspiration and work reserh are done for book

    i should check the accidental demaon slayer series too now ^^ to be added on my list after this post^^

    thank you once again for your kindness

  2. Angie Fox

    Thanks, Miki. Believe me, I had no plans for hanging with biker dogs when I started the series! But now, I can’t imagine life without them.

  3. erin

    Thanks for the fun post!! I loved Immortally Yours!!! Congrats to Angie on the newest release and I can’t wait to get my hands on it : ) Ummm… I bought my dog a snow suit cuz he’s got practically no hair and we get snow here. He doesn’t really mind it and looks so cute!

    • Angie Fox

      Oh, how cute! What kind of dog do you have? I tried to buy my poodle some boots once. I was able to get them on her, no problem. But she refused to walk in them. She’d just stand there and look at me, like, “Are you done yet?”

  4. Victoria

    Thank you for such a great post! I was always an over protective pet mommy and never did anything really out there. I love the photos in this post. What happy puppies :).

    • Angie Fox

      They dogs are so cute when they’re about to ride. They get super excited. One of the bikers said, “Well, think of it this way. Dogs like to have their heads out the car window. On a motorcycle, it’s like they get to do that with their entire bodies.”

  5. Diane

    When the kittens were very young, they would go trucks and bikes were abundant. If they were not cars, outside and I would be worried sick,home by 9pm I would send my husband out witha bag of treats to find them and entice them back to the house.

    • Angie Fox

      And you know a bag of treats always works. My dog tries to get out of the house now as a game. She’s not trying to go anywhere. She just knows we’ll have to lure her back into the house with goodies.

    • Angie Fox

      Aww…what a sweetie! When we were kids, we used to get into the dog house with Rex, our German Shepherd, but he never let us ride.

    • Angie Fox

      Glad to do it! Teddy reminds me of my neighbor’s cat, who likes to be chased. She’ll stop and meow if you dare find something else to give your attention to (say, like the other neighbors). Then there’s the neighbor’s cat who will walk on a leash. I didn’t believe that one until I saw it for the first time.

  6. Susan

    I’ve never done anything crazy with my cat, but I loved reading about your biker experience. Thanks for the giveaway.

  7. Anne

    I have cats, doing anything crazy with them would only get me sliced up. I tried to dress them in doll clothes when I was really little. It was not a success.

    Love Angie’s Demon Slayer series, definitely interested in the new one.

    • Angie Fox

      Good for the cats! I used to dress up my white poodle when I was a kid. He was about the size of my Snoopy stuffed animal (who had clothes). Poor dog. I look back on the pictures now and I’m a kid, all proud. And there’s my doggie, with this look on his face like, “I know how stupid I look.”

  8. June M.

    Well, I fostered a raccoon when I was a teen because her mother was killed. I kept her for about a year until I found a safe place for her to live. I started feeding her with a bottle. She and my little dog were BFFs and played and wrestled. I worked at McDonald’s at the time and they became addicted to the animal cracker cookies. I had to bring them home a box at least a few days a week, lol.

  9. Barbara E.

    I used to walk my kitty on a leash around the townhouse complex where I lived. That’s about as wild as I’ve ever gotten with my pets.

    • Angie Fox

      The kitty on the leash cracks me up every time. I about fell over when one of my neighbors started doing it. The cat enjoyed it, too. She got out of the house, got some attention. It was all good.

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge