**Notice** Due to transfering back from a godaddy hosted wordpress blog back to blogger, reviews published before june 2017 don`t all have a pretty layout with book cover and infos. Our apologies.

Saturday, September 22, 2018

Stacking the Shelves {325}


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
I picked up kind of a wacky stack this week over at Reading Reality. I got some books for a couple of American Library Association committees that I'm on. For once Amazon managed to throw some books that looked interesting at me through one of their "if you looked at this you might like that" promotions. And a couple of favorites have new books coming out.

So many books, so little time!

The Arrows of the Heart (Uncharted Realms #4) by Jeffe Kennedy

Dark Queen Rising (Margaret Beaufort #1) by Paul Doherty

Winter at the Beach (Moonlight Harbor #2) by Sheila Roberts




Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, September 15, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [324]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
Here in the southern United States this is Hurricane Florence weekend. I'm in Atlanta, which is way inland, so all we're expecting is rain. At the moment (Friday afternoon) it looks like it's going to miss us. Of course, that could change by the time you read this.

But if we do have a major rainy day on Sunday, as currently predicted, it should be a great day for reading - and cuddling (or huddling) with the cats!

Speaking of reading, here's a few of the books I picked up this week. My full stack is over at Reading Reality, of course.

So many books, so little time!

California Girls by Susan Mallery

The Mortal Word (Invisible Library #5) by Genevieve Cogman

Rebel Hard (Hard Play #2) by Nalini Singh



Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Thursday, September 13, 2018

Buried Heart by Kate Elliott

Buried Heart by Kate Elliott

Book Stats:  

Reading level: Young Adult
Genre: High fantasy
Hardcover: 467 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release date: July 25, 2017

Series: Court of Fives, #3

Source: Library

Reviewed by: Kara

Order: Amazon | Book Depository

Choose between your parents.
Choose between your friends.
Choose between your lovers.
Choose who you are.
On the run from the murderous King Nikonos, Jessamy must find a way for her beloved Kalliarkos to take his rightful place on the throne. Only then can he end the oppression of the Commoners by their long time Patron overlords. But Kal's rise to power is fraught with manipulation and shocking decisions that make Jes question everything they promised each other. As their relationship frays and Jes's family and friends beg her for help, will she cast Kal and her Patron heritage aside? Will she finally join--even lead--the rebellion that had been burning among the Commoners for years?
This explosive finale of World Fantasy Award finalist Kate Elliott's Court of Five series forces Jessamy to confront an inescapable truth: with or without her, the revolution has begun.

If you recall, my earlier reviews noted how hard it is to continue this book as a standalone. I recommend reading the series all at once due to the complicated political and familial nuances that are hard to grasp from one book to the next. This final novel in the Court of Fives series has allowed Jessamy and Kal to both come into their own forms of leadership, Kal's obviously because of his birthright, but Jessamy too for her parents' leadership positions and her own cunning reputation as Spider. The tensions between the Efeans and the Saroese are high, and Kalliarkos and his allies plus Jessamy and the Efean rebellion are all treading treacherous ground in evading Prince Nikonos's forces and then Lord Gargaron's own house. The game for the Efean throne has a lot of players and everyone Jessamy loves seems to be on different sides. Jessamy herself has more inner conflict to resolve as she's still trying to understand what parts of her are Saroese and what are Efean and even, what make up neither that is uniquely her.

"Heartbreak is the wine of poets."

As foreshadowed earlier in the series, Jessamy's status as half-Efean presents a big relationship gap between her and Kal, and with his Kingship and Jessamy's position as his lover, her race and gender make her easier to be pushed aside as illegitimate by Lord Gargaron or even at risk of assassination. Though Kal would insist she be legitimate rather than his mistress, Jessamy will never command the respect due a queen, neither would the people embrace a "mule" heir. Jessamy must face humiliation and the obvious machinations to seduce Kal despite their affections, but even with the threat of being a pawn against Kal, Jessamy shows her courage and talent as a Fives strategist. Her strength of cunning is what pushes this book to its powerful conclusion.

I loved this book and this series. The conflicts of gender, race, class, family, and morality are so well-drawn and real. The best things in this series, though, are Jessamy and Kal. Both challenge all the stereotypes of their world and use their actions to change the game, change their worlds. Jessamy's parents are atypical YA parents because they have strong relationships with her and show they love her and want the best for her and to keep her safe, but Jessamy shows she's ready for more adult power in rebelling against them when they treat her like a child. Most of the time, she makes the difference in keeping her family alive, even if she actually just doesn't understand their reasoning. It's a really beautiful coming-of-age story with a fierceness of love, loyalty and sacrifice. There are some epic twists at the end, and despite these minor heartattacks, the finale is ultimately satisfying. If you've been missing out on this subtle but powerful fantasy series, what are you waiting for?


Saturday, September 08, 2018

Stacking the Shelves {323]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
Did you miss me last week? Kara certainly had some interesting books. I also love the Lord John series by Diana Gabaldon, and have a copy of Seven Stones to Stand or Fall somewhere in the towering TBR pile.

Which never stops me from adding new books! Here are a few teasers from this week's Stacking the Shelves over at Reading Reality:

Cat Chase the Moon (Joe Grey #21) by Shirley Rousseau Murphy

The City of Lost Fortunes (Crescent City #1) by Bryan Camp

Nightchaser (Endeavor #1) by Amanda Bouchet



Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, September 01, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [322]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————

Wow! Summer flew by and we were so busy I didn't have much time to read with all of our life changes. It was a whirlwind! Is that how it felt for you all? Here are the books I've missed posting while I've been up to my ears in utter bedlam.



Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade by Diana Gabaldon
Completed in July.
Probably my favorite versus the first one, but I like The Scottish Prisoner best. There were many unanswered questions/loose threads and that Percy bit was shocking but also...not quite what I expected. I'm going to have to read books 6-8 again, I think, if another book comes out.


Lord John and the Hand of Devils by Diana Gabaldon
Completed in July.
I didn't like most of these as much as anything else, but story #3 was my favorite.



Seven Stones to Stand or Fall by Diana Gabaldon
Completed in July.
I read everything non-Lord John in this book after finishing the main set of novels, but enjoyed going back to finish them all. Now I only have to read the graphic novel, The Exile!


Broken by C. J. Lyons
Completed in July.
July's teen book club pick -- an earlier, more horrific and less mature version of Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything. Enjoyed, especially talking about the psychology of it and her hyperspeed at making trustworthy friends at a new school.


These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner
Completed in July.


This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner
Completed in July.


Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner
Completed in July.
I am still over here missing the Illuminae series, so I finally had some time to snatch all three of her first series. I enjoyed them, but they definitely feel more space opera than space epic. Still great even if the added level of Illuminae's genius was the vast variety of narrative formats and the art. This also has the romance, space, mystery, a bit of adventure, a big villain and strong characters.


The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
Recently completed.
Our teen book club pick for August!
I was trying to debate whether I could review this because of the alchemy, but I think I landed on just not fantasy/scifi enough. Still, an entertaining, lighthearted romp that touches on sensitive topics but overall rings with genuine wit and devilish adventure. I cannot wait for the second book because I loved Felicity and want to read more about reformed rake Monty. (If you're a fan of historical romances, this is that but for teens with an LGBTQ spin.)


The War I Finally Won by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Recently completed.
I read the first in the series a while back because I got a signed copy at ALA for my friend and ended up reading the whole story on the plane ride. Love. Did not know there was a second (because I've got my hands full with teen lit, let alone paying attention to children's fiction!), and was ecstatic to find it on the shelf one day. I cried through the latter third of the book. So, so, so good WWII historical fiction for children and Ada's voice holds honesty and bluntness but such sharp perception of her world. Plus, she loves horses. I'm going to buy this series so my children will have it.


Tortall: A Spy's Guide by Tamora Pierce, Julie Holderman, and Timothy Liebe
Recently completed.
I've probably said it before, but Tamora Pierce is possibly my favorite older classic YA author, especially for fantasy and female heroines. This is not for every reader, but truly for big fans and those who might be aspiring writers or worldbuilders. Fascinating. Fantastic explanation of all the immortals, detailed timelines, and other interesting side conversations from the Tortall realm including all the details of how to be a spy for the Whisper Man.


Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
Currently reading.
One of my favorite teens at the library has been on me to read this book. I'm in the process, but it's taking a lot longer to listen to the audiobook (read by Lin Manuel Miranda!) due to my podcast news addiction. I already known I'm in love with the voices of Ari and Dante though (. . . could be Lin Manuel, but I think more the writing). 


Saturday, August 25, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [321]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
Let's call this the Worldcon (World Science Fiction Convention) edition of Stacking the Shelves. My complete stack over at Reading Reality is absolutely ginormous this time around, but here are a few of the highlights from the con.


Diaries of a Dwarven Rifleman by Michael Tinker Pearce & Linda Pearce

Exit Strategy (Murderbot Diaries #4) by Martha Wells

Restless Lightning (Breaker of Empires #2) by Richard Baker

Time's Children (Islevale #1) by D.B. Jackson

What Makes This Book So Great by Jo Walton
This isn't new, but it's what I'm reading right now. I started it at Worldcon after hearing the author on a panel about "great books from 2017 that didn't make the Hugo Ballot" and I enjoyed it so much that I decided to keep going. I like her perspective and her voice, even when I don't agree with her.



Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, August 18, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [320]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
I've got three books to show you today, out of my complete stack over at Reading Reality. The three books I have to tease you with are as different as they could possibly be.

One has to be science fiction this week. I'm prepping this post very far ahead because I'm away at the World Science Fiction Convention in San Jose this weekend. So one definitely has to be SF. But the other two...you'll see.

Ruth Bader Ginsburg: a Life by Jane Sherron de Hart

Search Image (Web Shifter's Library #1) by Julie E. Czerneda

Someone to Trust (Westcott #5) by Mary Balogh



Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, August 11, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [319]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
I have three books in this stack that I am really, really looking forward to. (Full stack, as usual, over at Reading Reality.) Not that I'm not interested in all of the books that I get, or I wouldn't have gotten them in the first place! But these are all books in series that I am following, so I have been waiting for these three ever since I finished the previous book in each of their respective series.

Drumroll please!


The Bartered Brides (Elemental Masters #13) by Mercedes Lackey

Dare to Love a Duke (London Underground #3) by Eva Leigh

Midsummer Mayhem (Potting Shed #7) by Marty Wingate

Please link your STS post in the linky below:


Saturday, August 04, 2018

Stacking the Shelves [318]


Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!
——————
 
Today's post at Reading Reality includes two completely different stacks. One is the usual rundown of the books I received this week. And the other is the picture of my actual glorious bookshelves in the office in our new house. We're still at the stage of pinching ourselves that we're actually adulting. We're also not remotely finished unpacking. The books in my office only go up to the G's. The rest are still in boxes.

And now back to your regularly scheduled book teases...

Consumed by J.R. Ward

For the Sake of the Game: Stories Inspired by the Sherlock Holmes Canon 
edited by Laurie R. King and Leslie S. Klinger

The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas



Please link your STS post in the linky below: